Solve issues with deleting, editing, and organizing files and folders in your Dropbox account.
Here are some of our most frequently asked questions. If you have a question that isn't covered by the FAQ's please create a new topic here. I can't delete an old Dropbox Backup If an old computer or external drive backup is still using your Dropbox storage and you can't find the option to delete it, these steps can help…
Hi, I’m trying to recover a folder that has disappeared from Dropbox. The folder does not appear under Events, Deleted Files, or version history. I am the admin/owner of the folder, and it is shared other accounts. The folder still appears in two shared accounts, but when they try to restore it, the restore option does not…
Have a folder with work files of about 30 gb. Accidentally deleted yesterday. Need to get back, but when i go to it, there's one file in it - I can't restore for the life of me. There's no where to press restore after I select that folder with one item in it. Is this something that may take days to download, and then i can…
I set up Dropbox on my new MacBook Pro laptop (running Tahoe 26.4.1) , and it's only showing files saved or edited through mid-2023, when there have been many, MANY changes since then. When I view my Dropbox folder online, it only shows the same files through mid-2023. However, my old laptop is still has all of my old…
I was using the website and created subfolders in the Camera Uploads folder. I selected the images/videos and used the move function to select which subfolder it would go to. After moving the files, I noticed that one of the folders was empty. I checked the total number of files between the subfolders and I'm missing all…
I have an active project folder, about 1TB, set to selectively sync and make all files available offline. The 4TB drive on which I'm working is dedicated to this project and has 3TB of additional free space. Despite all of this, once or twice a week, Dropbox will de-sync every single file and folder in the project, leaving…
I have a Dropbox Basic plan on my Mac. Most of the files on my Mac are synced with Dropbox. If I delete my Dropbox account, I understand that I will lose my files on Dropbox. Will Dropbox also delete the same synced files on my Mac?
I upgraded from Family to Team as the storage quota was full. Dropbox cancelled my Family subscription. I rejoined but it forced me into a new account. I now can't access any of my folders that are not part of the Team folder that I orignally synced.
I cannot sign in to my account because when I try to log in with the email address that was used, I am prompted to create a new account. However, I have not received any emails informing me that the account would be deleted due to inactivity; I have checked all folders. How can I restore my account?
I logged in this morning only to find hundreds of files and many folders missing from my dropbox. There aren't any files in my deleted folder so I can't even restore them. I literally can't contact anyone to help! I'm extremely stressed and frustrated. Can someone please help me get my folders and files back. Thank you!
In simple steps how do I see the files in the dropbox so I can delete those I choose?
It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.
Learn how to use Dropbox and find answers to common questions in the Dropbox Help Centre.
Get the most out of Dropbox with free self-guided courses and live instructor-led sessions.
See available support options based on your plan including email, live chat and phone support.