Hello,
I'm dealing with the biggest emergency of 2026.
I erased Dropbox through Mac Settings (Documents - File Browser) by mistake, since I completely forgot that my desktop was automatically synchronized to Dropbox.
Now it shows like the screen capture below.
I searched and found two possible ways of recovering it:
1. Use "Put Back" manually Dropbox from Bin
2. Re-synchronize the desktop from Dropbox.
For way 1, when selecting the Dropbox file in my Bin, there is no "Put Back" as a choice (I do not understand why).
For way 2, there is no "Desktop" showing up in my Dropbox account "Recently Deleted files".
*Although I initiated the erase around 50 minutes ago.
However, the weird point is that Dropbox was at the top of the list in "Storage" in "Settings" on Mac, which is now considered zero bytes at the bottom of the list, followed by their size.
*Another point that seems incomprehensible is that my Dropbox page shows that my account's storage limit is 2GB (ref. the screen capture) according to my Basic Plan on Dropbox, although the Dropbox size in the list of "File Browser" in Settings was over 150GB. I confirmed that there is only one Dropbox account linked to my Desktop through the automatic email from Dropbox when I started synchronizing them.
So none of the ways could save the situation.
My desktop was a hub for everything in my Mac (all of my job stuff, all of the administration stuff, etc.), job-wise and lifewise; this really is the heaviest situation in 2026.
(Basic information about my device that I can go public with)
MacBook Pro Late 2017
OS: 13.7.8 (22H730)
Plan: Dropbox Basic
*Since I prefer to conserve the exact situation when I accidentally erased it, I've not upgraded my plan to be able to send an email to the company yet.
I sincerely appreciate your support in advance.
Thank you,
Hakim.H
(P.S. This is the English version of it, though I understand/can reply in Japanese and French if needed)