I had a personal Dropbox that I accidentally merge with a Business account by using the same email. How can I get my personal Dropbox back with the email and content that is now associated with business Dropbox login.
A business account shares with a non-business accounts = merging.
They didn't share with you. They invited you to join their business account. If they had sent you a regular shared folder invitation, your account would not have been merged into the business.
And how to get help?
Have the team admin for the business account contact Support and request that your account be restored. They will have access to phone support. Also, refer to the bottom of this help article.
and you don't even get a notification on whether the ticket is received.
If you opened a ticket, you can track it at the link below. Also, refer to the bottom of this help article.
The team admin for the business account needs to contact Dropbox Support for this. If the team admin were to remove your account from the team now, it would simply be deleted.
What would happen to all of my files?
If you were removed from the account now, they would probably be deleted along with the account. This is why the team admin needs to contact Dropbox.
Hey Guys,
My Personal Account was Merged into my Companies Business account not by accident, this is what was suggested to me. I had 10G of Storage personally. Can you reinstate my personal account please?
Thank you.Jerry
I have the same problem.
A client of mine invited me to a shared folder - but they use a Business account - and without any warnings my private account was merged into their business account and I no longer have control.
The fact that this can happen is simply unbelievable. A business account shares with a non-business accounts = merging.
Come on DB this is not great design work...
And how to get help? Contact the support which is only available through a form and you don't even get a notification on whether the ticket is received.
Rich I don't know if you are a Dropbox employee, but this isn't a user issue it a design issue!
Got my problem sorted pretty easily once I got to speak to someone, which wasn't that easy either at the time, and all my files were fine! Just a bit scary!
Jerry
Rich,
You're correct that my client invited me to Their DB business.
BUT!
1) The client didn't know the consequences of inviting me - they just wanted to share a folder
2) The email states NO information at all about what the potential consequence could be - e.g. "please note that..."
I cannot believe that this way is the intended one, once the design was made. There must be several issues similar to mine where people accidentally loose control. I find it strange that there is not thought of a much simpler model where the owner of the DB which is invited can CHOOSE to merge or not - instead of this just happens automatically.
I find it strange that there is not thought of a much simpler model where the owner of the DB which is invited can CHOOSE to merge or not - instead of this just happens automatically.
When you accept the invitation with an existing account, you're given a choice of moving your personal files to a new account or merging them into the business account.
This has just happened to me!!!!!!
How do I get this resolved?
Everyone understands that they 'chose' this - the complaint is that it's far too easy to make a near-catastrophic mistake. Like others here, I've just handed over my entire 100GB Dropbox history to a bunch of people I hardly know. Every confidential file from all previous clients, now controlled by a new client. With one erroneous click.
We make mistakes - we should be able to resolve them quickly.
I cannot disconnect my personal account fromaclients team folder I acidently joined, how can you allow this to happen??? so many posts with the same thing. I have private folders with lots of other clients in my personal dropbox the admin can now look through!
Unbelivable you can make this so easy, the invite is confusing it says join with your existing account or create a new one, why would I want a new account? I presumed the admin sent me a shared folder like all the others I share with.
I now have to ask this new client to delete me so I can get my account back..this is very bad design. Fortunatly the new client seems nice I hope she can delete my mebership and my account returns to what it was.
Hey @Alan B.42,
I understand that this may be frustrating to you, I'm here to follow-up on your request though!
Because this is an account-specific matter, I'd have to ask you to raise a ticket with our team, since we'll require sensitive information that can't be discussed here. I'd be glad to follow-up on your request, if you let me know a ticket ID here, so that I look up for your request internally and assign it to a team member.
Thanks in advance for your cooperation, looking forward to hearing back from you!
This just happened to me to and it is beyond unacceptable. I have been paying my $9.99 a month for years and I do this not because there are no other alternatives but because I feel safe with the dropbox system. I no longer feel safe. I will definately move my business to another service now.
I really need some live help I am afraid my account is compromised
I accidentally made the wrong selection when joining a team invite now my db is merged with theirs and I cant get them to un-do it I am afraid they now have access to my personal dropbox
If you believe your account in compromised, you should go to your Security page and change your password. Then check the list of devices and web browser sessions that are associated with your account and remove any that you don't recognize.
Beyond that, you'll need to contact Support directly as only they can assist with account related matters.
Open your ticket here: https://dropbox.com/supportTrack your ticket here: https://dropbox.zendesk.comReplies take approximately 1 - 3 business days with Plus, Professional and Business users getting priority (longer for Basic users). If you have a Business account that includes chat and/or phone support, those options are available in your Admin console by clicking Help.
Is my entire DB folder available for the team to view??? How do I figure it out?
@hemituner wrote: I accidentally made the wrong selection when joining a team invite now my db is merged with theirs and I cant get them to un-do it I am afraid they now have access to my personal dropbox
You'll still need to contact Support using the information above, but the admin for the business account will still need to approve the restoration of your account back to a personal account. This is because, after joining a team, the account now belongs to the business; it's no longer a personal account.
The easiest way to have it restored is to contact the team admin for the account as they have the ability to restore it back to a Personal account. If they can't or won't do it, you'll need to contact Support directly to see what they can do.
By adding my folder do the admins have access to the contence of the folder even if I didnt share it with them?
Im really in a jam here I accepted an invite and now I am afraid the admins of this can see my entire PERSONAL drob box library, Im begging for help here I really dont know these other people and admins personally and they will not release me. Im in a real jam and have no idea if they can mine my data from that folder. Im really stuck and frantic please help
How do I leave the business acount? Need to contact someone.
@Richard43 wrote: How do I leave the business acount? Need to contact someone.
You need to contact the team admin of the Business account and ask them to convert your account back to an individual account.