Don't quite understand how someone else can add folders into my account and then I can't delete them when they are out of date. Is there a way to do that without them having to manage this?
You can leave shared folders youself by following this guide here.
Hi @KateHB, thanks for messaging the Community.
It sounds like you're referring to a shared folder in which you're a member.
Are you able to see the shared folder on your account from this page? Are you an editor of the shared folder, which would allow you to add and delete files and folders within the shared folder?
Do you need to delete the shared folder from your account, or to just delete folders that are within the shared folder?
Feel free to drop any relevant details below. The more I know upfront, the sooner I can zero in and find a solution for you.
Thanks for the reply. It is shared and I have access. But when I tried to delete it, it said I couldn't since I wasn't the owner even though it's on my account. I was amazed that a client could upload all the folders to my dropbox and now I'm almost out of space. I will get it straightened out with the client, but meanwhile I need some space.
So am I able to permanently delete files within the folder without the owner's action?
And yes, I can see the on the page you linked, not sure if I can edit, though?
If you can't edit the shared folder itself, or the folders inside it, you can remove the shared folder from your account by following these steps.