I had a personal Dropbox that I accidentally merge with a Business account by using the same email. How can I get my personal Dropbox back with the email and content that is now associated with business Dropbox login.
A business account shares with a non-business accounts = merging.
They didn't share with you. They invited you to join their business account. If they had sent you a regular shared folder invitation, your account would not have been merged into the business.
And how to get help?
Have the team admin for the business account contact Support and request that your account be restored. They will have access to phone support. Also, refer to the bottom of this help article.
and you don't even get a notification on whether the ticket is received.
If you opened a ticket, you can track it at the link below. Also, refer to the bottom of this help article.
This is the most horrible and frightening user experience I had for years.
I'm seriously considering to cancel my (and my employees) dropbox-subscription (which I have for more than 10 years) and switch to owncloud.
Is this serious? This just happened to me and my whole life is unable to be accessed now.
Is there a way to contact DropBox to find my personal account? This can't be true.
@thebattina wrote: Is there a way to contact DropBox to find my personal account? This can't be true.
Were you a member of a Business team and were you removed from the team? If so, it's true. Only the team admin can help you in this case. Dropbox cannot recover your account. You need to contact the team admin and ask them to restore your account, but they'll only be able to do this if the account was deleted within the last seven days. Once restored, they need to convert your account back to an individual account.
Slightly related experience.. I had a personal dropbox account for years and recently one of the companies I work for part time needed me to set up a Team for their company. I had no idea it would swoop up all my personal dropbox files and add to their team folders. I am having trouble getting it resolved.
Hey @SusanU,sorry to her you're having issues with this.
In this case, you'll need to reach out to your team admin and ask them to convert your account back to an individual one following the steps outlined here.
Let us know how you get on.
So for clarification, I was removed from a "team" and the message at login I get is... "Your account has been suspended. Please contact your administrator for more information." and can no longer access my personal folder and files. There is no way for me to recover my personal Dropbox folder, files and account without help from my former team leader? Do they have access to my personal files?
Hi @Steve93
Basically yes to both. As soon as you joined the Team you agreed in that process that they then owned all of the files and folders on your account - same as if you were using a company work network. From that moment they had access to everything in your account if they so wished.
This is why when you join a team the process almost tries to force you to create a second new account instead to do so.
I accidentally added someone to my team as a member. How do I remove him from my team without blocking their entire account?
I still want him to have acces to one of the folders.
You will need to REMOVE him from the Team via the admin panel (not delete!) and then share the folder individually with him.
Note that he will need an account large enough to access it, so, if its over 2gb he will probably need to pay for an upgrade.
@PEA2023 wrote: How do I remove him from my team without blocking their entire account?
How do I remove him from my team without blocking their entire account?
You need to convert their account back to an individual account.
I have had the same issue and I want the DropBox teams to know that the process of moving a personal account to a Pro has completely shattered my confidence in the DropBox service. There is absolutely flabbergasting that in just one clan and with absolutely no explanation of consequences, nor ability to cancel, all your content is now managed by someone else without the ability to regain control by your self but ask for a permission of the 'new owner' of your content.
10+y of paid subscription will now go to another service, my trust is gone and I am superbly upset.
So will I have to pay for it again, even though I already paid for a year?
I didn't receive a refund. I've had an account for years and now because of this weird error, I need to go back in and pay when I already have?
@SparkleCindy wrote: So will I have to pay for it again, even though I already paid for a year?
When you join a Team you are refunded the fees. So, you wont have paid 🙂