Is there anyway to recover an account that has been deleted?
There's likely no way to recover the files. You deleted the account, so all files and history in that account were likely deleted as well. All you can really do is open a ticket and ask Support.
Open your ticket here: https://www.dropbox.com/supportTrack your ticket here: https://dropbox.zendesk.com
Replies take approximately 1 - 3 business days with Pro users getting priority (longer for Basic users).
@basheer wrote:can we recover a deleted personal account from dropbox
If you deleted the account or it if was deleted due to inactivity, no, it cannot be recovered. If the account was part of a Business team and deleted within the last 7 days, the team admin might be able to restore it.
The Dropbox support team managed to find a solution and sorted the issue!
I'm happy that I got my files back! Thank you everyone!
Nope, its gone.
Just to confirm Richard is correct.
You selected that the account was deleted so it was - all data / referrals etc. are removed
I had a pro account (paid thru Oct.) but had to delete the files and deactivate the account. After review, I realized there were some files that I didn't have saved locally. Now I'm trying to find a way to reactivate that account and access the deleted files. I was told to sign up for the account again using the same email address and sign up for a pro account again. Now that I've done that I still can't see any deleted files. Any suggestions?
Dropbox have previously said that once an account is deleted the data is removed so as Rich said that is now unrecoverable.
can i get my deleted account back , it really important
No, deleted accounts cannot be recovered.
I was prompted by dropbox that my work account wasn't used in two years (which was true). I decided to follow the link through my work email to delete the account. What happened was it deleted my personal account. I definitely did not want my personal account deleted, and I have no explanation how the two accounts were linked other than I may have used my personal email address as a backup on my work account (and vice versa; my work email as a backup on my personal account). I use my personal account regularly (a couple times a week) and if the two emails were linked like this, I would assume they wouldn't have sent me this inactive email in the first place. I'm very upset right now and looking for any guidance to recover my personal account.
I dont think you can Brian I'm afraid.
Log a ticket and ask. www.dropbox.com/support
I think what may have happened is you've been logged in to your personal account (software installed on your machine?) and it does warn you which accounts are being removed as you do the process.
The same thing that happened to Brian happened to me! At least I want my account with all my space in his back. Unfortunately I guess it's my files are gone I'm SOL. This is a really bad set up from dropbox.
I would like to recover the content of my dropbox account as I do not check my email regularly and did not see the emails that it was about to close. How do I do this?
You cant.
As has been said - the account is closed. Therefore its closed and deleted.
I have a Dropbox Pro account and have for several years. My business account got linked to it, and the business admin today accidentally deleted my whole account. Is it gone forever? Even as a Dropbox Pro user?
My business account got linked to it, and the business admin today accidentally deleted my whole account.
Have the business team admin contact Support to see if they can restore the account.
Note to everyone else... This is a unique situation that occurs when a business account removes a member from their team. It is not the same as when you go through the process to delete an account. Support will not be able to restore your accounts if you've deleted it yourself.
That happened to me too, everything is gone! Hate it.This is a serious problem that dropbox has to fix. No one except me may delete my account!
The moment you accept the Business invite and go through the (pretty obvious) process of converting the account to a Business one, the account is no longer yours. During the process, you are given the option of transferring your personal files to a new account, but the moment you complete the process its no longer your account.
There is nothing to fix imho.
When I made the account at work it was pretty obvious I was making a work or business account. That's about it from the "pretty obvious" standpoint.
When I made my account at home I never once converted it to a "business" through a "business invite". I don't even know what that would look like if I wanted to. I may have used my work email as a BACKUP to my primary. That is in no way a "pretty obvious" way of making it a business account or having any desire to link the two accounts together.
It was NOT obvious that I would lose controll of my account when I was invited to dropbox buisness. I assumed that it would be the same thing as when someone invite me to shares a folder in Dropbox basic, that I would have access to a shared folder.
That should be a big warning that demonstrates that I now abandon all control over my account! My private account! So stupid of DROPBOX to do like this!
Do not understand why they have built up in this way, it is illogical that someone else to take over control of my private account!
I have been in contact with dropbox support and they say that there is a possibility to recover the deleted account and files. However not got it restored yet, but I'm will nag on until they do it!
So what's the solution to get the account back when a business account accidentally deletes your pro account? The business deleted my account and when they invited me back to try to get my files back my folder wasn't there. I have emailed support about 8 times in 10 days and I haven't gotten any response.
First off, you need to stop contacting support Leila - every time you are you move yourself to the back of the queue. Close additional ones at http://dropbox.zendesk.com
Secondly, it maybe worth asking the Business Admin to call support on your behalf. Remember you (when you followed the on-boarding prompts) gave your account to the Business (it does tell you this) so if they didnt have it in the first place it couldnt have been deleted.
Account [email removed by moderator] I tried access this account before be closed and I was unable.
I should liked recover it or at least open a new account for this email (professional).
I have another private account for [email removed by moderator] and to that one I have acess.
Regards,
Humberto Leal
You cannot recover an account that has been deleted. Nor can you recover files from a deleted account. Both are gone. You can probably create a new account using the email address of the deleted account as it's no longer active in the system. If not, contact Support.
my account as been closed due to inactivity
how do i recover the content ?
You cant I'm afraid.
The account has been removed and so has the data - as the emails warned.
I would like to reactivate my account
As has been stated numerous times, you cannot reactivate an account that has been deleted. It's gone the moment you delete it.
I have accidently lost my folder :
Under :
dropbox
Robert Chua
in these folder got 3 subfolders
could you please help me to recover them
Thanks
Robert chua
An account got link to a business account, and then the admin deleted it, is there a way to get it back? How come anyone is able to delete my account, without any information?
An account got link to a business account, and then the admin deleted it, is there a way to get it back?
You need to get the admin of the Business account to contact support to have it reinstated.
How come anyone is able to delete my account, without any information?
When you accepted the Business invite, you gave control of the account away to the Business admin - the onboarding process is quite explicit about this, its no longer your account, and you are asked if you want to create a new personal account to move your own files to.
ok, so it won't be gone? it will be restored?