Comments
-
I have never given any access to this folder to anybody. That folder doesnt show when Berth-Anne joined. Note that you HAVE to have given access to the folder at some point for it to be a share. It is impossible for it to be a shared folder without it being, well, shared. The only way people can get access to a share is…
-
But, as I said, how does it work when its multiple computers - which is what Dropbox is designed and intended for. So if you edit a file in Folder A on computer 1 what does it do on Computer 2? If I have a file as \My Documents\Mark on machine one but it is \My Documents\*My company name\ on machine 2 what happens now? The…
-
marionmehrer wrote:If I say Yes, will I get duplicated files on my new MacBook Air (as I already have the files on my new MacBook Air? Hey Long as you point it to that folder it will recognise what you already have, reindex and start syncing changes. It almost certainly will look like its…
-
Staffan V wrote:Can there be a Dropbox security issue? Or that the person deleted a file with the same name in his own folder but Dropbox accidentally deleted the wrong file? Its simply not possible that the files are linked to another account - just think if that's how Dropbox worked how many people would have issues with…
-
tbelknap wrote:How do I fix this?? Have you tried to drag and drop them back in to the other directory?
-
This has been asked for a lot, and, rejected by Dropbox because it doesn't work well across systems - for example if you have a folder sync'd on machine A where does that then go on machine B for example? They recently compromised with the Backup systems but that actually moves those directories to Dropbox and puts links…
-
You can view Essentials via https://www.dropbox.com/plans#all-features but I cannot for the life of me work out where Professionals is! In fact if I go to https://www.dropbox.com/en_GB/pro and try and buy it takes me to Essentials.... I suspect Pro isn't purchasable anymore - or its been merged in to Essentials. I know…
-
Einfach gesagt, nein. Das ist nicht der Zweck von Dropbox. Dropbox ist ein Synchronisierungstool und es gibt keine Möglichkeit, dies zu ändern. Es ist auch nicht möglich, Dropbox als Laufwerksbuchstaben zu erstellen oder auf andere Weise als das \Dropbox-Verzeichnis zu verwenden. --- Simply put, no. This is not what…
-
Its going to depend upon what you want really.... Essentials is more aimed at Business users and Professionals is home users. So I moved from Professional to Essential as I wanted access to things like Sign and to be able to edit PDF's etc.
-
jonathanbckr wrote:there's no way to reach out to support directly. You can do so via www.dropbox.com/support. Or, post on the relevant build thread for your Dropbox client version here.
-
theflyingburritto wrote:Why can't someone without a subscription that has been shared a folder from someone with sufficient storage space not be able to have access and have it stored locally? Because the service costs money to run and operate. Dropbox needs to cover its costs and more users = more costs. Every up and…
-
soccerlaurie wrote:Is there a way for me to link my original Dropbox account with my Gmail address? You can create a shared folder between the two accounts BUT you will need to log on to the other account to do this - and assuming its not been deleted. If it has been deleted its unrecoverable.
-
If thats the case you will need to install a none beta version locally or you will stay on the 214.3.x branch until it goes stable. Avaviel wrote:It MIGHT be a beta feature. I can't tell, but I've opted out and I'll see if that fixes it next restart. Its also worth adding comments on to the Beta thread to say you dont…
-
When installing Dropbox just tell it to set up and installed using the 'Online Only' option - then it wont download everything but will create the folder structure for you instead.
-
The biggest issue is that it will reinstall it every time there's an auto update - which is about once a week. There are no official ways, you will need to find some sort of registry hack or similar. Sorry. Also, try considering finding and upvoting any similar ones on the Ideas board.
-
Avaviel wrote:Is this a new update 'feature' or something? I really have no idea I'm afraid. I am not seeing it on mine but I'm on a Mac and Dropbox are really, really dire at posting change logs... What version of Dropbox are you using? If you mouse over its icon it should tell you.
-
What happens if you do a screenshot and Dropbox is closed completely?
-
That first screenshot makes it look like you've installed Dropbox Capture. Maybe try and see if that is running or you can uninstall :)
-
Martsssssss wrote:Surely there is an easy way to deactive them? Unfortunately there is no supported way via Dropbox to do this.
-
Then it currently just contains the databases and index. It will grow over time, and shrink while not used. Do not delete, however.
-
JOJO Nikai wrote:is it safe to delete it? No. That contains all of the files necessary to run Dropbox, identify what shared folders are and contains the index of your directories. You can empty the directory (but you may find you end up loosing file downloads currently in progress and some quick restores etc) but do not…
-
Dropbox cannot delete files unless its told to do so. It simply isn't possible. Theres a few things that could be the issue here. Firstly remember Dropbox is a syncing tool. So what you do to the files in Dropbox replicate everywhere to all other connected computers and devices. That means if you edit files on machine A it…
-
Pahan737 wrote:Maybe there are other ways to recover early files (deleted 2-3 years ago)? No, it isnt possible at all I'm afraid. If you were a paid user at the time of deletion you could have up to a year of recover. However, if you were a free user its 30 days and this isn't changeable. It also isn't possible to pay to…
-
theCollaborative wrote:is there a way to make it so all pdf's are marked as make available offline all at once( have as a default) so that the user does not have to do this for each pdf file Individually. Unfortunately there isnt. It is set per folder and there isn't a way to alter this :( Sorry
-
Its very unlikely you will be able to do so. See https://help.dropbox.com/account-access/lost-email-access for info and contact support via www.dropbox.com/support. Do so while not logged in - even to here. So use an incognito window. Out of interest, how long ago did you last log on? If it was over 12 months your files…
-
Dropbox uses up the space of all people within it who have files on an account, so, if you dont pay then your quota will be 2gb (or thereabouts) and so you need to leave some shares, delete files (careful though as if in a share it will delete them for everybody) or get more space via an upgrade.
-
Best thing to do is have a read of the API instructions, or, if you arent sure ask for help via the API Forums.
-
thedefaultman wrote:Is there a way to do that? Simply put.... no. Apps decide where they create folders and are often locked to that one place. The only people who can change where it locates, and for it to still work, are the people who develop the app
-
Annakana wrote:Should there not have been a warning ? There are multiple warnings if its due to be deleted over many many months. Have you checked the email used for the account is identical to the one you initially signed up for? Usually if this happens you arent asked to create a new one - it just auto does it.
-
Thats how it works if you delete in bulk I'm afraid. A work around to this would be to go to the location where the files were initially, click on 'Show Deleted Items' and then restore the folders individually