Comments
-
Which version of Dropbox are you using?
-
I don't think he has more than 4 GB of photos to upload. I put 95 pictures in that folder it they only consume 178 MB He does if that is the error. It will stop and not allow sharing as soon as it goes over.
-
When a friend tries to add some photos to a shared folder Dropbox tells him I am out of storage space The amount of photos he is trying to add is bigger than the quota you have free. So, it is over 4.45gb or so (as thats what space you currently have free). Shared folders use up the quota of everybody within the share. If…
-
What is www.dropbox.com/events showing? You can restore deleted files from there, or, by following this.
-
Which version of Dropbox are you using? If you mouse over the icon on the status bar it should tell you.
-
how are we supposed to reduce our accounts back down to the size they were before the duplications took place Dropbox doesn't duplicate the files on its own. Something on your machine / linked device is doing that. You may get a clue at www.dropbox.com/events; however, you'd need to manually decide what a duplicate is and…
-
How long ago did you delete the backup? It can take a few hours to update.
-
Sorry I cant help, but, people here may be able to, do you have a ticket number? Did they say why they cannot do a screen share? Also, it may be worthwhile explaining your issue to see if somebody here has any idea :)
-
However, the files where not properly synced and now only exists as 0 kb files on another place on my harddrive. Unfortunately they wont be recoverable via Dropbox I'm afraid. That means you had Online Only sync set up and didnt download them first before deleting the folders.
-
Is Dropbox running? As in if you add files to Dropbox do they sync to the web
-
What does Dropbox say if you mouse over its icon on the status bar near clock at top?
-
Also the free version of Malwarebytes. Have you tried this completely disabled? Malwarebytes is renowned for blocking Dropbox completely - even when told not to.
-
Argh yes! Bring it back please. And stop removing features! Especially ones people use
-
Dropbox is almost certainly not running then - hence no syncing. :) Try and restart it or reinstall from www.dropbox.com/downloading.
-
Please confirm this ability is not available on the "Plus" subscription, and that we'd have to pay more to upgrade to a "Standard" plan That is correct. Also, please provide a link to a page that shows all these other plans. Some of those are old depreciated plans now. All the plans you can see/buy are available at…
-
What does Dropbox say if you mouse over its icon on your status bar?
-
It was iver quota for years because dropbox started with 50gb free account. I just forgot about it Just to clarify, it never was. Dropbox was only ever 2gb. It has never increased. Its one of the biggest complaints around about the free tier. The initial paid for plan, however, was 50gb when it first launched - quickly…
-
Unfortunately, I never received a clear warning that the subscription was ending, nor was I aware of the strict 30-day window to back up my data before permanent deletion. I only realized what happened recently. You get multiple emails saying this is happening - the downgrade takes in excess of 2 weeks, as you are emailed…
-
Dropbox usually doesnt work after cloning. A reinstall should fix it - without breaking all of the directories etc. Just redownload and run from www.dropbox.com/downloading.
-
I was on a Dropbox Plus plan 5 years ago, but didn't renew. This is almost certainly your issue. If you are over quota Dropbox removes data to bring you back down under quota. They send multiple emails out to say this is going to happen. As you can see the structure then this is what happened - because folders dont take up…
-
Is there a basic plan that just the two of us could use to share or edit files between us from time to time? You want to be careful using this option - firstly as its against the T&C's to use one plan between multiple people, but, secondly as it can cause issues in terms of ownership. For example everybody who has the…
-
What exactly is the error? Would love to call support and ask but dropbox's tiered support is a disgrace to everything good in this world. Phone support is available to paid Business Teams. Email and Chat support is available to those on paid plans. You can see what your entitlements are at www.dropbox.com/support.
-
You can check online at www.dropbox.com/events
-
Once files are removed this way, does the data still exist on Dropbox's side for any period – in backups or under a longer internal retention than what a user can see? Yes, but, only for 30 days after deletion if the deletion is for being over quota and no if its for inactivity. What does www.dropbox.com/events show? Would…
-
If they've been deleted upgrading wont make any difference. However, syncing would start again. Dropbox does delete things if you are over quota and if thats the case (based on your email) then they are not recoverable. Did you check what www.dropbox.com/events shows?
-
If I resubscribe, will my files come back or have they been deleted? What do you see at www.dropbox.com/events ? Can they be recovered? Probably not - they do send repeated emails to warn you they'll delete data if you are over quota to bring you back under.
-
My Dropbox subscription was canceled, and after my account went over the available storage limit, many/all of my photos appear to have been deleted. Dropbox emails to warn you they'll do this multiple times before they do so as well as has information on its website to say what will happen if you do this.
-
was the one joined to the team, not a separate account created for me. This is the part where you've gone wrong, unfortunately. When you onboard to a team you are given multiple chances to set up a second account to become part of the Team so as to leave your personal one seaprate and then run both on the machine at the…
-
The difference is you deleted it - so thats what should happen. When Dropbox deletes it they actually dont delete the account, they just delete the data and bonus quota on it. So they cant comparable I'm afraid. In terms of log in attempts I dont think it would reset the counter as its not a successful log on, but, thats…
-
Just to clarify something here. Is it possible that my previous login attempts (where the password was accepted and Dropbox asked for the 6-digit security code) counted as activity, and that this is why my account is still active after more than 3 years? The account itself, for some reason, always seems to stay active. So…