Comments
-
The external drive is 99.999% almost certainly the reason. Dropbox cannot delete files without being told to do so. However, and this is the important reason Dropbox says to not use it with external drives, if the drive connects late or disconnects and Dropbox is running it can (not always, just sometimes) see it as a…
-
There wont be hidden files except the backups page. Everything that is sync'd to your account shows at www.dropbox.com/home - there is no way to 'hide' things from the web page.
-
So that should cover it 🙂 Are you using an up to date version of the app?
-
Hi @"mdavidjohnson" You cannot move the install files from C:\, however, you can move the actual Dropbox directory to another drive by using the advanced installation route
-
What OS is the device using and version?
-
@"hello_box11" - no it is still true, they just 'mask' it very well. The number of threads on here showing how computers / files are lost when people delete Dropbox from the computer without rolling this back is testament to that 😞
-
Are you using Dropbox backup? www.dropbox.com/backups ?
-
@"CityOfEvil" No, sorry, once an account is removed for inactivity the files are permanently removed.
-
Have you also checked the Backups section? www.dropbox.com/backups
-
Everything you see at www.dropbox.com/home and www.dropbox.com/backups uses your space
-
Do you mean two logged in on the website? If so try opening a second browser window but use an incognito or private one. If you mean on the computer, unless one is a paid business account you cannot have 2 logged in at the same time.
-
Dropbox can only replicate what it is told to do @"Sawyer1971" - what is www.dropbox.com/events showing? And yes, sadly, everybody should ALWAYS have multiple backups available. Been burnt that way myself 😞
-
Is that the only event @"marami" ? If so the Apple employee is correct. You have set up a totally new account. You need to log out and in to the other one. Remember here that if you are using things like Gmail you can use punctuation before the @ sign and have the domain as googlemail.com or gmail.com and they all go to…
-
@"cwsteini" if that email is NOT you then the bank MUST help. After all somebody has your bank details and your card is compromised. What else are they going to buy with it!?
-
What does www.dropbox.com/events show about the files?
-
@"Lanaex" Have you checked www.dropbox.com/backups to see if thats using up the quota? Note as well that deleted items do not use up your quota so deleting them has no impact
-
All support options are account dependent and listed at www.dropbox.com/support. Email support is restricted to account issues OR for paying users. Phone support and chat depends upon your paid plan. Alternatively you can ask here.
-
Hi @"MazzaGazza" Yes you can do that 🙂 Although it may take a few days to release the email depending upon account type 🙂 Another option is to use a third email to swap in to the account with the iCloud one and then you can use it immediately to switch Hotmail
-
You have almost certainly accidentally set up a new account rather than logged in to your old one. Have a look at www.dropbox.com/events - does that show activity from before you bought the new computer and installed Dropbox?
-
Hi @"rgnx91" The files arent stored inside an iCloud directory at all are they? Is Dropbox running? What version is it?
-
No, there are no restrictions in that regard 🙂
-
Hi @"cs20" It sounds like you've turned Selective Sync on - have a look at https://help.dropbox.com/sync/selective-sync-overview and see if that helps 🙂
-
Have you tried unlinking and relinking? Making sure you've enough quota?
-
@"TexasHawkeye" wrote: And this is EXACTLY why they won't do it. ...that way my wife and I ... not have to buy another drop box account. Remember that sharing accounts is against the T&C's and can result in an account being disabled (and thus lost). Please be very cautious of doing so
-
@"Marieana330" wrote: Don't have access to the email on this account and I forgot the password There is no way to recover the password without the email. As you are logged in download everything immediately and simply set up a new account. If you dont download it you run the risk of being logged out and not being able to…
-
Hi, No there is no way to create links to files that are in Backups. If I remember rightly when it was in beta you could but thats been removed now 😞
-
If that is the only file you are seeing @"Sawyer1971" its almost certain that EITHER you havent logged in to the account in over 12 months and as such it has been closed and this is now a brand new one or you have accidentally logged in to/set up a new account. www.dropbox.com/events should give you some info as to whats…
-
Hi @"gailb" Your data is safe 🙂 You need to wait for the upgrade to fail as well as the few retries that it will do - you get a few days grace before you are downgraded. Then once you are downgraded and you notice syncing stops as your account is now over quota you simply re-upgrade to the correct plan and using new card…
-
Hi @"Paul43" Closing the account wont do anything to the files in yours 🙂 However, if you want to be ultra safe simply move the files out of the shared folder in to your own directories and then they are totally independent of the other account.
-
You were given backup codes when setting up the account - you have to tick to confirm you received them when setting up. You cannot proceed without them. Once you get back in download them immediately. If you ever lose your phone etc. and thus cannot receive texts there is no way, at all, to get around that without the…