Comments
-
I'd suggest recontacting support for help as they will have access to the other information - we here are a public web forum. We have no access to what you initially said etc.
-
How were you accessing the files in the first place? Microsoft doesnt natively save to Dropbox via a computer. You should have all files at www.dropbox.com/home. You can also see what has happened to files at www.dropbox.com/events. The other question is 'how long?' since you accessed the files? Was your last log in over…
-
Recent on Site you cannot and it seems an update to the desktop app also now means you cannot. You used to be able to right click on the notification and hide.
-
Is this on the desktop app?
-
Dropbox doesnt have this as a feature I dont believe. You'd need to use some other sort of tool to do it
-
@"JustinK_" I'm going to add.... it is still there.
-
@"leopal" wrote:I have also sent e-mails to support@dropbox.com with no reply. For clarity there is no such inbound email support with Dropbox.
-
Hi @"samirothmanxo" If you havent logged in in over 12 months the files are deleted for inactivity. Unfortunately you cannot recover these if this happens. Dropbox does send multiple emails over many months saying this is going to happen and the consequences of not logging in to keep an account open. Note that the issue is…
-
Hi @"designer1vantageconcepts" That means you are not logged in to your business account and are using a free one. You need to log out of the software on the machine and relog in with the paid account details. https://help.dropbox.com/account-access/sign-in-out
-
anonymous - Your Team admin can get live chat support at www.dropbox.com/support.
-
Have you tried a different browser? Cleared Temp internet files etc.?
-
@"Paulo Torres" wrote: Where do new files go after synchronization stops? I need to understand this to inform a technical professional. Into the folders you saved them. However, Dropbox uses symlinks so the folder directory you expect may not be actually where they are located if you are not using Finder for example. So…
-
@"DaComboMan" wrote:Trying to remove 2 previous ones is not working. Why? We need more info. Why isnt it working? Whats it saying or doing etc.?
-
Hi @"Paulo Torres" So the folders inside of Downloads, Desktop etc. that were inside of Dropbox were just being saved in to another folder on your machine - one called Dropbox. There wasnt anything magical about that one. They werent syncing if you had no quota to do so. But they were saving there if you kept telling your…
-
That is a OneDrive icon. So they almost certainly have the files stored in two locations. Once in Dropbox and once in OneDrive.
-
@"KamillaV" wrote: Ranchen, I’m having a similar issue can you assist with my account please As you explained on this thread you missed the emails telling you the account was to be removed I am afraid there is no way to recover that account and data. Dropbox immediately removes it from their servers upon deletion.
-
Switching the email is the only way to do it. You havent said why the switch doesnt work, but, I guess its because you didnt put a different email on the current Business account first. You need to 'release' that email before you can use it on a different Dropbox account.
-
Dropbox do reserve the rights to delete files if you go over quota, yes. They will warn you before they do it, however, it is not recoverable once it happens.
-
Have you looked at www.dropbox.com/backups ?
-
If you get that error it means the file is larger than 2gb. So the share is OVER 2gb. When you get the error it should say something like 'you need Xgb of space' which is how much more you need. If you just need read only access ask the person to send you a shared link instead.
-
If its a Share you need to leave the Share at www.dropbox.com/share
-
Can you give us a screenshot of what you see?
-
Duplicate conversation ongoing here: https://www.dropboxforum.com/t5/Security-and-Permissions/How-secure-are-my-files-on-Dropbox-and-can-they-be-accessed-by/td-p/778172
-
@"Maqali" wrote: If they can or will ( if they need to in some cases) so how can be user feel secure that the files or data will be not shared or stolen or leaked by the dropbox ( staff) itself? Again, that is the same as most services unfortunately - you just need to trust them (OneDrive, iCloud, GDrive etc.). Or same as…
-
They have access to users data, as does most cloud providers if we are honest where required to by law (i.e. if a court orders it).
-
@"zaboykie" wrote:It would seem that unlinking from Dropbox would be the best answer, then I can relink on a daily basis to update my recent files, after which disconnect again. Dropbox on an external drive itself is a recipe for disaster. If the drive disconnects while running it can wipe everything remotely and then…
-
Dropbox cannot give you a log on popup if its not install. If its a new machine there is a good chance its pre-installed as quite a few come with bonus quota offers.
-
Have a look at this article.
-
@"Maqali" wrote: If an account is disabled, the content is removed or it stays there? If removed by Dropbox data would be removed if there was no legal reasons to keep it (for example law enforcement action).
-
@"Nancy" wrote:Rest assured that Dropbox employees can’t access your files or see their contents. That is technically not correct. Dropbox can access your files if they need to (for example for legal reasons) as per this help article.