Comments
-
mdiehl wrote:So, deleting my account is the only way to get these people out of my project? You could just leave the folder as Rich said and then delete the folders from your account instead. Deleting the account would loose any bonus space etc. you have.
-
AFrench wrote:What is that parameter and why did it change? Its worth remembering that Dropbox isnt a hosting platform. They have often done changes to the way things are shared via links to stop people hosting. The changes to links is something that has happened before, and almost certainly will happen again. I'd strongly…
-
You will need to contact Dropbox via www.dropbox.com/support for any assistance.
-
Pleased its sorted! If you need to send something back to them you can ask for a requests link :)
-
souseran wrote:However, when I look at usage, it shows "Using 0 GB of 2 GB space." That means the shared folder is bigger than your free space (i.e. it is larger than 2gb in space). You either need to get more space, get the shared folder smaller OR if you only need read only access ask for a shared link instead.…
-
SheilaSheridan wrote:I only have access to Safari. Can you not download and try say Chrome? Its really the only way to see if its a local issue or not. Another thing to try is deleting all cache and temp internet files.
-
chlojito wrote:I'm just thinking, surely they have backups, right? If an account is removed due to inactivity, or, files are deleted and not recovered within the recovery window (30 days for free users) there is no recovery possible. The files are removed - you are warned this repeatedly on the emails sent. Dropbox removes…
-
Clairecox wrote:Could this be a Dropbox error if there are several people getting the same thing? No it isnt. Clairecox wrote:m baffled and completely gutted How long ago did you last log in? Was it over 12 months? What does www.dropbox.com/events show? Clairecox wrote:You can't seem to be able to get hold of anyone at…
-
The Dropbox Cache is probably full, have you tried emptying that? It may also be worth just doing a simple reinstall: www.dropbox.com/downloading
-
Nancy wrote:even in the occasion where the Dropbox account was downgraded. That isnt correct. Dropbox has a policy now of deleting data of accounts that are over quota. So, if the account downgraded in say Jan 2024 the data would have been wiped by now.
-
Unfortunately you have - somebody is downloading it repeatedly, or, its been picked up by a website or something and they are streaming it.
-
Hi :) Do you have any links at www.dropbox.com/links ? Do you stream things to your mobile devices at all?
-
It sounds like you have agreed to Dropbox using Dropbox backup which relocates certain directories in to its own structure and leaves symlinks/junctions at the original. Have a look at https://help.dropbox.com/organize/how-to-use-dropbox-backup to disable it.
-
CarlaD wrote:Yes I said I have tried just opening it many many times. But what happens?
-
As its a work environment have you asked IT if they are blocking it or uninstalling it? And you haven't actually answered the question by Megan. What happens if you try and open it instead of reinstall? Why are you reinstalling instead of just launching it? Whats happening?
-
MSS2 wrote:I would not like to post my email address on a public website if that can be avoided. They dont - they have your email on the account linked to here which they can see. MSS2 wrote:Can I have a DropBox email I can contact, please? There isn't one. All support is via www.dropbox.com/support.
-
jvachon wrote:Any ideas? Dropbox has a bandwidth limit for free users - 20gb/day. However, this is a rolling 24 hour period so if you exceed this you are banned. You can remove the ban once, but, after that each ban gets longer. The only way to get around it is not share over that limit, or, pay for an upgrade.…
-
That option still exists. Is Dropbox running on your device? What does it say if you mouse over its icon on the status bar and do you get the other menu options appearing? As Nancy said a screenshot would really help of what you do see on the context menu.
-
If you share a file to somebody with edit access it will open with edit access. Instead share it with View Only Access to people who you only want to view it and then they cannot edit it.
-
mcamwill wrote:I have no public folders Anything you share from www.dropbox.com/links will count towards this. Same for streaming to mobile device or downloads using API.
-
If events is empty you are almost certainly using a different account. What is the error on the links? What does www.dropbox.com/account/plan show? Does it show basic? If so its not the account you upgraded. How did you pay for the upgrade?
-
We need more info here - where is it missing from? How long ago did you last log on? What is www.dropbox.com/events showing?
-
Why? Whats the error? We need more info. If the error says you need x amount more space that means you need that much more space than is free in your account. E.g. if you have 1gb of free space and error says you need 500mb of space that means you need 1.5gb of space in total.
-
If you select the 'online only' view then it just downloads placeholders to the device. BUT when you then need to open them it will have to download them first and then open (so can be slow if they are large). It also does not automatically turn them back to online only. So, if you open and edit lots of large files you…
-
boohah wrote:I was the one who recommended we use this for large files and the organization has a pro account so I didn't think it would be an issue. Shared folders have always used the quota up of all accounts within the share (unlike Google etc.). So 2gb of files in a share takes 2gb of quota from everybody in it. This…
-
If you are just uploading to somebody why not just ask for a Request Link? https://help.dropbox.com/share/create-file-request
-
That isnt how Dropbox should work. Do you happen to have multiple Dropbox folders on your machine at all OR have you set up Selective Sync?
-
boohah wrote:I am thinking if I can remove myself and then re-add it, I can add that last file and be done with it That wouldnt work I'm afraid. Because if you re-add it then it would download everything that was in the folder back to your account anyway IF it even lets you add it - you cannot add a share which will take…
-
Captcurrent wrote:its shows that my activity and its nature is being tracked and summarized by Dropbo Every company will track what you are doing (hence, if in EU those blinking irritating cookie consent boxes!). As for summarizes, to be honest I have never known anybody ever look at them!
-
Have you tried to rebuild the search system? https://discussions.apple.com/thread/253479408