Comments
-
Hi @"GoeminBakeru", thanks for bringing this to our attention. It sounds like the person might have an automation running in the folder, which would rename the files that are uploaded there. Could you check this with them to see if this is the case?
-
Hi @"Timothy6", thanks for contacting us. This message means it would delete the file from that location in the Dropbox folder, the the same location on the Dropbox site, and the same location any Dropbox folder that your account is currently connected to. It won't affect files with the same name that are outside the…
-
Unfortunately, as we have no access to your passwords on our end, without the 12 recovery words, it wouldn't be possible for you to restore your Dropbox Passwords account. I'm sorry I can't be more helpful on this matter.
-
Hi @"erath", thanks for bringing this to our attention. As the mobile app doesn't directly 'sync' to the Dropbox site, since it is primarily a viewer to the account, the files should still reflect what appears on the site, after the files synced there from the Dropbox desktop application. Is this occurring for all files…
-
Hi @"JonathanBurns", thanks for messaging the Community. Currently, it wouldn't be possible to sync the desktop itself as you're requesting, due to the many different configurations on multiple devices. There would be the possibility issues with permissions, user profiles, data corruption and even data deletion. We…
-
Hi @"enovikoff", thanks for bringing this to our attention. You can try these steps to restore the backup from the Dropbox site onto your current machine.. If you need any further assistance, please let me know.
-
If you update to File Provider, this will use the CloudStorage location on your machine, as that's the only place it can be stored for Mac devices. Since you don't want to lose links already linked to that location, this would be the best option to have the Dropbox folder back there.
-
Hi @"Lexo1", thanks for messaging the Community! You can create a new empty folder, move the files into that new folder, and then share a link to the folder itself, so that the customers can view the files within. If you need any further assistance, please let me know!
-
You can enable the camera uploads feature by using these steps on the Dropbox mobile app. If it is enabled, try disabling it and re-enabling it.
-
Hi @"Geoffrey Huck", I'd recommend contacting the support team for them to look into this in more detail on their end.
-
It sounds like you're not referring to the 12 recovery words, which is for the Dropbox Passwords feature, but the recovery code, which is for the two-step verification feature. You can only get the recovery words from within the Dropbox Passwords app or extension. Since you mentioned you're able to access them now, it is…
-
Hi @"Sfariba", since the images have the file names like IMG_2915.HEIC, this means you are manually uploading the images, and not using the automatic camera upload feature. When you manually upload images, the current date and time is used for the photos. The camera upload feature would instead rename the images to…
-
Are you certain that you're entering the recovery words (without the numbers) in their original order as shown on the site?
-
Hi @"Andrew B.58", the notification that the prompt mentions would've been on the older Firefox browser, which is on the now-formatted Windows, so it would be impossible to get that notification now. It won't pop-up on the existing Firefox browser, since it is unknown to the Dropbox Passwords extension. This means that the…
-
Hi @"Paul D.4", currently, there aren't any further steps we can try in relation to the modification dates for folders on your device. In general, folders do not contain modification dates, as they are only directories containing files, and no actual data in the 'folder item' itself. The OS would be the one to determine…
-
Hi @"RustyRiley", thanks for bringing this to our attention. Are you referring to the Dropbox Backup feature, or something else regarding the syncing of files? Any other info or screenshots would be helpful!
-
Most likely, the best option would be to unlink the Dropbox desktop application from your Dropbox account by signing out of your account in the desktop app. This would prevent any changes on the machine from affecting your files online. Afterwards, you can delete any Dropbox folder on your machine that you have mentioned,…
-
In that case, if you're trying to use a shared folder, then as you've noticed, it takes up quota on all accounts, so you'll need to try other methods in order to send files to them.
-
Hi @"tigerbody", it looks like you're using the older version of the Dropbox desktop app on Mac OS, as you're seeing these sync icons. The red icon means that those files aren't syncing to your account for some reason. Do you have enough quota on your account?
-
You can use the steps suggested in the second link I posted earlier in order to have them share links to those files, so you can download them, and they can create a file request link for you to upload files onto their account.
-
Hi @"JamesBPick", thanks for bringing this to our attention. Could you attach a screenshot showing what you're describing? Are you using Windows or Mac OS, and which version are you running? Any other info or details would be helpful!
-
Hi @"tigerbody", thanks for posting today. Shared folders do take up quota on all accounts of active members. You can try these steps to help collaborate with the other user without using up your quota. If you have any further queries, feel free to message back.
-
Okay, so you type in the password, then click on Permanently Delete, and the site takes you to that page and file isn't permanently deleted, is that correct?
-
If you copy the transcript to a text file, does it appear with the line breaks?
-
Hi @"LadyBug17", could you attach a screenshot showing what you're describing? Is this for any file you attempt to transcribe?
-
Are you certain that you're using the correct password when attempting to delete the file?
-
Are you accessing the community from a desktop machine? Are you not able to see the camera icon in the reply box, like below? Otherwise, you can copy and paste your screenshot in your reply, or use a Dropbox shared link and paste the link here.
-
Hi @"BGCraig", thanks for contacting us! Currently, it isn't possible to backup your entire computer to Dropbox. The Dropbox Backup feature only allows certain folders and external drives to be backed up to your Dropbox account. If you have any further queries, feel free to message back.
-
Is that user already part of a Dropbox team, which might've restricted sharing folders with non-team members? Could you try switching browsers to see if this helps?
-
Hi @"Karen43", thanks for bringing this to our attention. Just for clarification, are you using the normal Dropbox site or app to add someone, or are you using an API or other method to do so? Are you adding them to a shared folder, or a team folder? This will help me to assist further!