Comments
-
Thanks for the update. Please let me know once the app says that it's completed syncing on your machine. After that, we can check to see if that folder ~/.dropbox/instance1/dfc/ has been deleted from your machine.
-
Does the text on the bottom left under the 0 mean that the desktop app is still syncing? Could you attach a screenshot showing the Dropbox folder itself in Finder, showing the syncing icon next to the folder?
-
Hi @dontokyo, thanks for posting today! As you mentioned that you have 25 GB of data, it's likely that this is a temporary folder used for migrating your data into the CloudStorage folder to be used with File Provider. It should be automatically deleted after the files have all successfully migrated and been re-indexed by…
-
Hi @sschmidt, thanks for providing these details. Is it possible that the date shown on that Dropbox folder, July 5th 2026, is when you linked this device to your Dropbox account, or when the Dropbox desktop application updated to the File Provider version? Seeing as how the Dropbox settings in your screenshot show the…
-
Hi @Ts_ka, thanks for taking the time to message us. As you mentioned this is happening with a third party app or service, there is a possibility that the app itself isn't syncing the file across fully or correctly. If you upload the MP4 files directly to Dropbox via the website or using the Dropbox desktop application, do…
-
HI @Nina C.3, if you uninstall the Dropbox desktop application, nothing will happen to your local Dropbox folder as it is in a different location, only the app itself would be removed. Let us know if your files begin to sync after reinstalling the desktop app!
-
Could you try the following steps to see if this helps? Save your work and quit all programs. Completely close any third-party cloud apps (e.g., Adobe, BackBlaze). Click the Apple logo in the top left and select System Settings. Navigate to Extensions and click Finder extensions. Uncheck the boxes next to any other…
-
Is the Dropbox Transfer option shown in folders inside the Dropbox folder, or outside the Dropbox folder?
-
Hi @snow-white, thanks for contacting us! Do you have any other cloud service apps running in the background in your Finder settings, aside from Adobe? If you can share any error messages, logs or Dropbox specs, that'll help me narrow this down much faster.
-
Thanks for the info, I've sent you an email, please could you reply to it when you get a chance?
-
Hi @chrisRyan, thanks for posting! As @Mark suggested, your can try reinstalling the Dropbox desktop application. However, if you try using the advanced reinstallation steps, then you can select the existing Dropbox folder in the advanced settings on step 11. Keep me updated with any progress!
-
Hi @Ting_TAN, thanks for messaging the Community. As @Mark stated, if your account has been downgraded, and your Dropbox Basic account is over quota, then files would be deleted from the account as per this article. Are there any files in the deleted files page on your Dropbox account? This will help me to assist further!
-
Hi @dentnick, thanks for messaging today. In general, referrals could be marked as ineligible if the user activates the referral on the same network as that of the person who created the referral. Were you both on the same WiFi network when he activated the referral? This will help me to assist further!
-
Hi @EstudioPlayground, thanks for bringing this to our attention. Could you clarify exactly what steps you've tried so far to resolve the issue you're experiencing? Have you tried reinstalling the Dropbox desktop application by following these steps? Feel free to drop any relevant details below. The more I know upfront,…
-
Hi @Diana_23, thanks for taking the time to message us. As @Mark mentioned, at this point, given that the deletions occurred 8 months ago from what you described, the data would've been permanently deleted from our servers, unfortunately. I understand how important these images are to you. You can contact the support team…
-
Hi @field_den, thanks for messaging the Community. If you're on a plan that has 30 days of version history, then upgrading to a paid plan wouldn't work retroactively to allow you to restore that data. Is it possible that you have this data saved on a machine that hasn't recently synced to your Dropbox account? Keep me…
-
Thanks for the image, @DanielASolis. Could you try the following steps to see if this helps: Click on the Dropbox icon from your Desktop and quit the application Open your Activity Monitor from your Mac Utilities folder Force quit out of the instances of the Dropbox application that are running by searching for "Dropbox"…
-
Thanks for the update on this matter. This isn't something that I experienced with my own personal account in Updraft, so I wasn't aware of this. Were you able to access the previous website backups from the Apps folder?
-
Is it possible that it was disconnected in some other way before doing this step? Can you check the events page to see if you're able to see the Updraft folders there?
-
No, it shouldn't delete the backups, since you're only disconnecting it from Updraft. If possible, are you able to click the ellipsis next to the Updraft folders to copy them elsewhere in your Dropbox account to back them up there?
-
Hi @Jasmine2023, thanks for the update. We're happy to hear that it seems to be working now. If there's anything else we can assist with, feel free to reply back here!
-
Error 401 usually means that the login credentials are incorrect. Could you try disconnecting Updraft from the connected apps page, and then see if you can access the Updraft folders? Afterwards, regardless if you can access them or not, try reconnecting Updraft from your website settings back to your Dropbox account again…
-
Hi @brosh, thanks for contacting us! In order to look into this further, I've sent you an email, please could you reply to it when you get a chance? In the meantime, if there's anything else we can assist with, feel free to reply back here!
-
Hi @Domscillator, as of yet, we don't have any new updates to share in relation to this matter. When we receive any info, we'll advise you here in this thread.
-
Is the Updraft service still connected to your Dropbox account according to this page?
-
Just for clarification, is this for the Updraft folder, or the actual Apps folder? Are you able to access any other folders in the Apps directory?
-
Thanks for the image. I also use Updraft for backing up my personal site, so I'm aware of how it works a little. On my Dropbox account, the Apps folder is normal when you view it in the main window of the Dropbox site, or the right, and not in the navigation pane on the left. Are you able to navigate to that page? For the…
-
Hi @AlanAtaxia, thanks for messaging the Community! Are you seeing this icon grayed out on the Dropbox site itself, or in your Dropbox folder on your machine (if the Dropbox desktop application is installed and running)? Whatever details you can provide, even if they seem small, will help us get to the bottom of this…
-
I do understand where you're coming from, and how concerning this is given the personal importance of those images. To ensure that nothing more can be done and that we've exhausted everything, I've reached out to the email address associated with your Community profile. Given that this requires account-specific visibility,…
-
Thanks for the message. We've passed on the message about the ChatBot reference on the Dropbox support site to our team internally. Currently, the support options for Basic users are as listed in this article I posted earlier. You can disable the camera upload feature by following these steps in the desktop Preferences.