Comments
-
Hi @Jeff047, just to check, could you confirm what email address you're signed into on the Dropbox site according to this page? Just the domain name would be helpful, and not the full email address for privacy and security purposes.
-
Yes, that's correct, you can do one free trial per plan, per Dropbox account, if you want to test out the features available for the plans.
-
Thanks for the reply. As you mentioned that the photos weren't in any shared folders, and that they were inside private folders, this means that the files have been permanently deleted, as the 30 day recovery period from 24/4/2026 has expired. We're sorry we can't be more helpful on this matter.
-
You can read up more about the features that the Dropbox Standard plan offers on this page. Namely, you get longer version history (180 days), more security when it comes to sharing files, faster support from the team, and more.
-
You should be able to create a Dropbox team account with a single license on the purchase page. If you're not seeing that option, could you attach a screenshot showing us what the minimum number of licenses are?
-
Hi @Sheldon L, thanks for bringing this to our attention. Do you have any proxy, VPN, firewall, security software, or even ISP/router settings that could be restricting traffic to the following Dropbox domains? Whatever details you can provide, even if they seem small, will help us get to the bottom of this together.
-
I can see that the support ticket is already with a specialist, so they are best prepared to assist you further with this matter. I've gone ahead and added your comments to the support ticket so that the support agent is aware of this thread.
-
Hi @Carl_Bloke, regarding the images appearing in the Photos tab, I can't be certain as to why the images are appearing now after you're making these changes. In relation to adding quota onto your account, as you've already purchased the 1 TB add-on, currently, there aren't any options to increase your quota further via…
-
Hi @Wendy H.11, thanks for messaging the Community. We appreciate the feedback on this matter for the Dropbox mobile app on Android devices. We take all comments into consideration when improving the support for the Dropbox mobile app. If there's anything else we can assist with, feel free to reply back here.
-
In your previous screenshot you sent, when you right clicked the Dropbox folder, there were no options from Dropbox to mark files and folders as available offline, or online-only. This is why I was checking to see if the app was running normally. If you're no longer on the File Provider version of the Dropbox desktop…
-
This article helps to explain it in more detail, namely the first paragraph: "The size of a shared folder will be counted against the quota of every member of that folder, unless each person is on the same Dropbox Standard, Advanced, or Enterprise team or Dropbox Family plan. For Standard, Advanced, and Enterprise teams…
-
Thanks for the info. At this point, it would be best to continue with the support team via email, as you have already been doing so, in order for them to investigate matters in more detail.
-
Hi @Spiral_G, I'm glad that we were able to provide more information on how to use Dropbox! If there's anything else we can assist with, feel free to reply back here.
-
Hi @RTM, could you confirm that the Dropbox desktop application is running and syncing normally, in order for the Dropbox options to appear in the context menu?
-
Thanks for the details, at this point it might be better for the support team to look into this in more detail. You can contact them directly via this link, and they'll be able to investigate further.
-
Is this only occurring for Word documents in the Dropbox folder? Are you experiencing any similar issues with Word files outside of the Dropbox folder, namely the '[Name of Document] already exists. Do you want to replace it?', which seems to be an OS prompt?
-
Okay, so just for clarification, these are the actual Word documents (.docx) that are being deleted while you're working on them, is that correct? Does this same behavior occur when editing Word files outside of the Dropbox folder? Are only Word files affected, or does this apply to any other type of file you're trying to…
-
The Dropbox desktop application shouldn't automatically delete files without any user or app interference from what you're describing. Are you certain that it isn't the Word app that is deleting the temp files? What happens if you attempt to edit a file that isn't in the Dropbox folder? Do you have AutoRecover enabled in…
-
Hi @akotsko, thanks for messaging the Community. It sounds like these could be temporary files that are created which you're editing a Word document, and as such these are automatically deleted by Word if the file is saved successfully and the program exited. Were you looking to prevent the temporary files from being…
-
Hi @mmoller, thanks for bringing this to our attention. Do you know what this date is approximately for the older Word files? Are these docx or doc file types? Could you clarify what you mean by 'a window pops up suggesting I have overwritten the file in Dropbox'? A screenshot showing this would help me understand what…
-
Hi @Nicole_MPM, thanks for the update. If this is a company-managed device, then there could be some IT admin settings that are preventing the machine from working as it should, and allowing certain programs to update or get installed fully. Let us know if you're able to get Dropbox working on your machine!
-
Hi @behindthelines, we appreciate your feedback regarding the support ticket. It can take time for the support agent to investigate this matter on their end prior to responding to your latest email. We'd recommend waiting for their response as they have more access to troubleshooting tools to assist further. In the…
-
Thanks for the update, please keep me posted with any updates on the syncing process on your device to see if anything changes.
-
Hi @DZMBA, thanks for taking the time to message us with these details. Currently, we're unaware of any issues relating to what you're experiencing. If you're not on a Dropbox Basic plan with more than 3 devices connected, could you try an advanced reinstall of the app using the steps in this link? Feel free to drop any…
-
Could you check to see if this article helps to explain why these images might not appear on the Photos tab?
-
Thanks for the details, this means that the data was deleted outside of the 30 day period, and it has been 3 months since then. If your files were in shared folders, then you should be able to recover them from there when you upgrade again. Otherwise, if your files were in private folders, this would mean that the data…
-
Just for clarification, did that email state that your files were deleted on that date specifically in February, or was it later in the year?
-
As you joined a Dropbox team, technically, the ownership of the files in your old account belong to the team admin of that team (since ownership of your account passed onto them when you joined), so only they could assist in retrieving these files for you. I can only recommend getting in contact with that team admin to…
-
Hi @Frank P E., thanks for taking the time to message us. Could you clarify what you mean in more detail? Does the CldFlt.sys file not load for you sometimes, causing you to not see the sync icons? Are you on a personal account, and were you ever part of a Dropbox team at one point, since there is a small possibility a…
-
Hi @nayakpanduranga, thanks for bringing this to our attention. Did you receive an email regarding these deletions? Are you able to see when the files were deleted according to the events page on your account? Feel free to drop any relevant details below. The more I know upfront, the sooner I can zero in and find a…