Comments
-
If you attempt to manage the backups via the Dropbox desktop application, are you able to select the Documents folder, or other folders instead to see if they can be backed up onto the site?
-
Hi @"gqcao", could you try using a different network connection, or cellular data to attempt to download some files?
-
We've not received any other reports from other users. Are these normal Excel files created by yourself? Are they created in the Excel app, the site, or converted from another format into Excel?
-
It won't be possible to move the Documents folder directly into the Dropbox folder, since it's a system folder. Does the Backups page on the site reflect any of the folders on your current machine?
-
Hi @"rls3800", if you need to delete files a from your account, you can do so from the Dropbox folder or the Dropbox site itself.
-
Hi @"Lesley05", due to a recent program update, the folders you selected for backup are no longer in the Dropbox folder, and remain in their original locations. Could you confirm if new files added to the Documents folder appear on the Backups page?
-
Hi @"cbshaffer", these seem to be the exact same folder, just displayed differently in Windows itself. One is showing the 'main' system folders on your computer (in the top section) and the second half is showing folders under your user account on your computer. You can confirm this by checking out other folders there,…
-
Hi @"sub-solar-studio", thanks for messaging the Community! Could you clarify exactly what you mean by a new tab directing you to Dropbox? Do you get this behavior when viewing the link in an incognito window on it's own, and not via your site? This will help me to assist further!
-
Thanks for the clarification. On the new version of the Dropbox Backup feature, the folders select (such as Documents, Desktop, etc) are no longer moved into the Dropbox folder. This also means that those folders in the backup are no longer visible on other devices, and can only be accessed directly from the Dropbox site.
-
Thanks for the info, it sounds like you're nearing the quota limit on your account, and the email was sent out to inform you of this. The email doesn't show the exact amount of quota on your account, however, the site will show this information correctly.
-
Could you attach a screenshot showing this message you're seeing on your device?
-
Hi @"leontovich1", thanks for messaging the Community! Could you check this page to see how much quota you have on your account? This will help me to assist further!
-
Hi @"robncarin", could you clarify what the difference is between the 'file explorer' and the 'files on your computer'? A screenshot showing this would be helpful!
-
Hi @"Michael L.80", thanks for bringing this to our attention. Could you try disabling and re-enabling the camera upload feature to see what options you get? Keep me posted!
-
Thanks for the information, could you contact the support team directly for them to investigate it in more detail?
-
Yes, although you should try to wait for the folder names and subfolders to be created in the new Dropbox folder, and then you can pause the syncing and copy the files over to the new folder. When you unpause the syncing, it'll take a little time for the app to process it as it will begin to reindex the files.
-
It's possible that the app lost the connection to the external drive, or some other variable changed to make it seem like a different folder or account entirely.
-
Hi @"Phil25", thanks for bringing this to our attention. Could you provide more information about what you're experiencing exactly? Is this a share link that you created which isn't working, or someone else's link, or something else entirely? This will help me to assist further!
-
Since you're getting this message, you'll need to create the new Dropbox folder on the external drive, since the app won't allow you to use the old one.
-
Hi @"HR Team", thanks for the info, I'd recommend contacting our support team for them to investigate this in more detail on their end.
-
If you're getting this message, then it could mean that it's trying to sign into another account. Do you have a different Dropbox account under a different email?
-
Thanks for the info, in order to look into this matter in more detail, would it be possible to reach out to the email associated with your forum profile?
-
Yes, provided that you still have access to the online version of Dropbox, and are within the version history for your account. In general, even for a personal machine, we recommend adding a password onto your computer profile login to provide a little extra security to your machine.
-
Hi @"QueenOfTears", thanks for bringing this to our attention. Have you followed all the steps in this article? Could you try completing the Get Started steps to see if this helps? Keep me posted!
-
Any files in the Dropbox folder should be synced to the site. Are you referring to files in another non-Dropbox folder?
-
Hi @"john l.134", thanks for messaging the Community. There are two separate systems at work here. There is the normal Dropbox syncing service, which is where all files in the Dropbox folder (the C:\Users\[user name]\Dropbox folder you mentioned), and the Dropbox Backup service, where files from certain system folders…
-
Hi @"chrstmar", if you install the Dropbox desktop application, and use the selective sync feature, then you can allow only the folders you want to appear on your new computer. The original dates and times should appear on the files within the folder. Could you try this out and let me know if this works?
-
Hi @"kingseal", are you referring to the team space update for Dropbox Business teams? Have you already tried contacting the support team directly for them to assist you on this matter?
-
Hi @"cbshaffer", you can disable the Dropbox Backup by following these steps. This way the files will return to their normal locations, and then you can continue to use Dropbox using the normal method, by moving files into the Dropbox folder as needed.
-
Hi @"marc_diederich", as you're experiencing this issue, please could you contact the support team directly for them to investigate this in more detail.