Rich Super User II

Comments

  • Dropbox Support does not work weekends. You'll need to wait until they're open again during normal business hours, keeping in mind that Monday is a holiday in the US as well. Also, PLEASE stop posting your email address on this public forum. It's a security risk.
  • In the case of any inactivity, your account would sit idle for appoximately one year. After one year of inactivity, your account would be deleted. Dropbox would first try to contact you at the email address associated with your account and warn you of the impending deletion, and then the account would be deleted a short…
  • @"jaresing" wrote:and no, don't tell me they that they are being created for the first time. Ok, I won't tell you that, but it's true. I feel sorry for all those people who upload their picuters only to find that they now all have a date modified as today. That's what the Date Taken field in a photo's EXIF data is for. The…
  • That's something for you to determine, using the documentation I linked above. The API is a programming interface for Dropbox, intended for people that are developing applications that will interact with Dropbox. Read through the documentation and post questions in the API section of the forums. *…
  • You'll need to use the Dropbox API for that. * https://www.dropbox.com/developers/documentation
  • @"leilfataya" wrote:you mean if I were the owner of the share folder, then I delete the folder, then all member will lose their shared folder also, don't you? No. If you simply delete the folder, you're removing it for just you and you'll have the ability to add it back to your Dropbox later. Other members will retain…
  • @"CC201" wrote:Dropbox changed an email from Rick to Rickpigsty @..... Dropbox wouldn't have done that. Dropbox does not change email addresses that are associated with an account. Only you or someone with access to your account would have been able to make such a change. And no, Dropbox has not been hacked, but that's not…
  • @"pfurbacher" wrote: This doesn't even come close to answering the question. It does. There is no way to remove or edit a single contact. You can either remove contacts added from connected services (as noted in my previous reply) or you can clear all manually added contacts. *…
  • As this is a third-party application that uses the Dropbox API, you'll need to contact Mathworks for support. Dropbox will have no control over how the Matlab application saves files to your account, and there are no options on the Dropbox side to control that.
  • The only solution will be to have everyone move their Dropbox folder to a common location, such as C:\Dropbox, and ensure that they haven't moved or renamed the shared folders where these files exist (a user can move or rename a share and it only applies for them). If everyone does that, the links would be the same for…
  • @"wekaleng" wrote:Is there a way we can access a flat HTML version of Dropbox so I can make this happen again? No.
  • @"MRShepherd77" wrote:Issues on about 800 files w/ " . " and " : " that used to not be an issue... The colon " : " has never been a valid character on a Windows system. It's reserved by the operating system, used primarily in drive letters, and Dropbox has never synced files with a colon to a Windows system. There are…
  • Not likely, since they've removed more photo features than they'e added. Dropbox simply isn't the best tool for photo mangement. Use one of the many third-party utilities available that can use rename files based on a photo's EXIF data. Run it against the folder containing the photos within your local Dropbox folder, and…
  • What you want to do isn't possible. iOS doesn't have a usable file system with folders, etc. Apple has restrictions in place to prevent that. You can mark files in Dropbox as available offline, so you have access to them even when you're not conencted to the Internet, or you can export files to other applications, but it's…
  • Some have used scheduled tasks along with taskkill to start and stop the dropbox.exe process.
  • But you're using Dropbox in a manner that's not intended. You're trying to control when Dropbox is running when Dropbox is meant to be running all the time. When used as intended, it works properly. That is why this wouldn't be a Dropbox issue. It's an unsupported configuration.
  • Have you tried it without using the start command, just calling dropbox.exe directly? If the above doesn't help, then you'll have better luck asking this on a scripting or Windows forum. This really isn't a Dropbox issue.
  • That type of information (assuming it's shared at all) is likely different for each type of account, and wouldn't be available to the people that provide help here. As Walter suggested, you'll need to contact Support directly if you need further assistance.
  • It means that it will delete the files from your Dropbox account and from the Dropbox folders on all linked devices. It cannot delete the files from elsewhere on your comptuer. Dropbox worded that message very poorly.
  • @"Daphne" wrote: Just to add to what @"Rich" mentioned, you can choose to open your PDF on the Dropbox website with a selection of 3rd party apps, including smallpdf! Ah, nice! I hadn't noticed that in the apps list before. Thank you!
  • @"ChrisPy" wrote:any suggestions how this can be done with mindjet and drop box (esp where there are links in the pages)? There is no way to serve an HTML page from Dropbox and have it render in a browser (computer or mobile). You can only download the HTML file.
  • @"Newbie9" wrote:We have two separate basic accounts, one for each user. Can we use the same iPad to access them both? If one user signs out and the other one signs in will that work? On a mobile device, you can sign out of the Dropbox app and the next user can sign in. Just know that any settings will be lost when you…
  • Dropbox has no such feature. You'll need to find a third-party app or service to do that. There are also websites that can merge PDF files for you. One such site, smallpdf.com, has many free PDF utilities.
  • @"johniwhite" wrote:I suspect (hope) that this is just a temporary glitch on Dropbox though. It's not a glitch. It's the way you're sharing the file. If you use option 1, you're inviting someone to a file and a Dropbox account is required. It's an invitation to a specific individual, and to verify that they are who they're…
  • Shared Folders require that each user accessing the folder have a Dropbox account. Likewise, if you invite a user to a file, that will require an account as well. If you create a Share Link to a file, a Dropbox account will not be needed by the recipient, but they may be prompted to optionally join Dropbox and create an…
  • @"drpitcairn" wrote:Said there used to be but no longer. Guess that was mistaken. There's no limit for you, but others that access the link will be limited to the first 15 minutes, hour or four hours, depending on your account type. * https://help.dropbox.com/photos-videos/video-length Mod update: * If the owner is a…
  • Dropbox has no such feature. Using File Requests as is, the folder will be created with whatever name you've given it when you created the request, and the files uploaded will be prefixed with the uploaders name. If you're comfortable with programming, you can use the Dropbox API to automatically generate a new file…
  • The solution is to get an updated version of the SQLBak app, if available, so that it supports the latest Dropbox API. You'll have to contact the developer, though it sounds like they may have abadoned it (at least as of six months ago).
  • @"mlprim" wrote:Any update on when this integration will be available? It's available now, as an open beta for English-language Dropbox Business teams. You can read more here: * https://blog.dropbox.com/topics/product-tips/google-docs-sheets-slides
  • @"billspears" wrote:No, it just gives me iCloud Drive, On my iPod (File Browser Go and Garage Band), and Recently deleted (empty). No Dropbox. If Dropbox isn't listed as an available location after tapping on Edit, uninstall and reinstall the Dropbox app. Note that if you do, any files or folders you had marked as…