Comments
-
My Dropbox subscription was canceled, and after my account went over the available storage limit, many/all of my photos appear to have been deleted. Dropbox emails to warn you they'll do this multiple times before they do so as well as has information on its website to say what will happen if you do this.
-
was the one joined to the team, not a separate account created for me. This is the part where you've gone wrong, unfortunately. When you onboard to a team you are given multiple chances to set up a second account to become part of the Team so as to leave your personal one seaprate and then run both on the machine at the…
-
The difference is you deleted it - so thats what should happen. When Dropbox deletes it they actually dont delete the account, they just delete the data and bonus quota on it. So they cant comparable I'm afraid. In terms of log in attempts I dont think it would reset the counter as its not a successful log on, but, thats…
-
Just to clarify something here. Is it possible that my previous login attempts (where the password was accepted and Dropbox asked for the 6-digit security code) counted as activity, and that this is why my account is still active after more than 3 years? The account itself, for some reason, always seems to stay active. So…
-
The Photos tab actually works the otherway around - it shows what has already been uploaded, so, for some reason they arent uploading. Have you checked in the Camera Uploads section that Video uploading is set to yes? You can do that by going to "Personal" at the bottom, then the cog and clicking on Camera Uploads. Make…
-
When was this brought back!?
-
I wish there was a prompt instead that had asked which files I would have preferred deleted or a chance for me to download them You do get multiple emails and warnings telling you this is going to happen and suggesting you download them if you want to save them. Its also worth remembering that for important data we really…
-
You will need to contact support directly as for some reason your sharing capabilities have been removed. They are the only people who can assist. www.dropbox.com/support
-
Since when do storage gets added to the allocation calculation of both the owner AND the users it has been shared to? Is this something new? Is this a mistake? Shared folders have always counted towards quotas I'm afraid. If you need read/write access it is going to use up your quota.
-
You can sync to external drives but it is not recommended due to the high risk of data loss. If it disconnects or connects slowly you can risk loosing files. What about using Offline files instead? Thats how I manage it.
-
To get more than 4TB of space you have to go to Advanced which 15TB in total space but you have to buy for 3 users and you have to pay for each user. The amount is way more. Not any more you dont :) You can upgrade to the Standard plan with a minimum seat of 1. It changed about a month ago. The minimum seat now for Dropbox…
-
There is no way to do this with Dropbox I'm afraid. Everything on Dropbox needs to be local, at least initially. There may be third party backup tools which can do it but not via Dropbox natively.
-
Hi You said you had 524.25mb available before the trial, after it you now have way more than that. If you meant you had 524gb of space this isnt possible unless you were on a paid account. Dropbox support has already answered your question in regards to that. If you had a paid account when you do a Business Plan these are…
-
Hackers gained access to my dropbox account and deleted it. I still have my files local. But I'm hoping theres a recovery process There isnt, sorry. Once an account is deleted, it's permanent. The work around would be to just reset the account up and then reconnect the computer and let everything re-upload.
-
They discontinued Dropbox Capture, which I used every single day. Even before shutting it down, they kept limiting video recording length. It had become a great replacement for Loom for me. I couldnt agree with this anymore even if I tried. We were told it would be built in to the main app but its never happened. I loved…
-
What does your plan say at www.dropbox.com/account/plan ? Remeber that refunds back to cards usually take 3 - 5 working days.
-
Dropbox doesnt work on partitions like that - so what you are seeing is not a Dropbox error. Dropbox files are stored in separate 4mb blocks - block level sync. So there is no partition for you I'm afraid. That simply isnt the way Dropbox works. See https://www.dropbox.com/en_GB/resources/what-is-cloud-storage for how it…
-
This looks like a broader server-side sync issue that needs urgent attention. It isnt. If you were over quota, as the emails and warnings state, your files are removed. Dropbox deletes them at the back end, it doesnt do it via a control on your device. If you were over quota and didnt delete things as you were warned the…
-
Can you use your emergency recovery details?
-
Hi The Standard plan now starts with just 1 user, so, you can get that if you need it. Until recently, you needed a minimum of 3 users (so you got 9 TB). The extended version history records every update of a file for 12 months. Its amazing! But careful as it only saves files on Dropbox so, while it is one of the systems I…
-
I would sincerely appreciate any guidance or confirmation of whether there is any possible option, no matter how small I'm so sorry to say but no, once that retention period has passed they are unrecoverable. If you think of it from a cost side for a moment the cost to hold that data would be huge, but also a legal side it…
-
Have you tried downloading the full offline version instead of the update version? It's available here.
-
Thats a great question! I base mine upon accountancy years (so I'm in the UK meaning its April → March). My folders are therefore set up as 1 - April 2 - May 3 - June … 12 - March I number them so they appear in order. Inside each I put all of my bills/invoices/statements etc. based upon when I receive them - scanning them…
-
There isnt I'm afraid. You have the 30 days listed after deletion as the warning email says, but, after that they are permanetly removed. Sorry.
-
Yes they are.
-
I have seen before that accounts disabled for breaching terms and conditions are simply that - closed without any sort of follow-up or appeals process. I wonder if this means your email has been flagged due to this? As its a family account its also possible that somebody else within the account is the reason the account…
-
Selective Sync still requires space on the disk I'm afraid because it moves everything to a hidden local internal folder first (as a data security method). Unfortunately I cannot think of a way of making it forced work without creating space on the first first.
-
The only people who can help are Dropbox via email I'm afraid. Once its been passed to them noody else can assist here. I'll also just add they dont work weekends so reply should be next week.
-
Try going to here and click on 'Linked Accounts'. Note you can only link a Business and a Personal. You cannot link 2 business or 2 personal for example.
-
Ah, sadly, given they are doing this as a compromise I cant see it happening. I'm on an old grandfathered plan (Essentials) which I love, but, Standard isnt quite the same so also stuck.