Comments
-
We appreciate the feedback about the online-only placeholders. We take all comments into consideration when improving the Dropbox app and services.
-
Hi @"andrewtsymbal", thanks for bringing this to our attention. Do the images not preview in all docs or just a specific one? Do you remember how these images added to the Paper doc (I.e. dragging and dropping, pasting, clicking the Dropbox icon)? If you add a new image to the doc, does it successfully preview? This will…
-
Thanks for the update, keep us posted on any changes.
-
Hi @"ewb123", thanks for bringing this to our attention. When you mark files as online-only from your Dropbox folder, they will remain on the site, but the files are replaced with placeholders in Explorer/Finder, with a tiny file size. This will allow you to quickly see that file names in your Dropbox folder, and open them…
-
Hi @"Who_am_I", there is a maximum on 32 referrals that can earn you 500 MB of quota each, to make 16 GB in total. Each referral above won't earn you any extra quota.
-
Hi @"Pilxs", what version of Mac OS and the Dropbox desktop application are you currently running on your device?
-
Hi @"PtboPete", what does the events page say specifically for the deletion of one of the files that was uploaded? A screenshot showing this would be helpful.
-
Thanks for the update, and I'm glad to hear it was resolved after a reboot. Yes, generally, if a folder or file is accessed continuously by an open app (such as a database, or a library of some sort) then it can prevent syncing since the items are technically in use. Enjoy your weekend!
-
Yes, you should be able to revert the files individually using these steps. Just so you know, Dropbox Rewind is available on paid plans, so if you have a paid plan, you should have access to it.
-
Hi @"Peter Stokke", thanks for bringing this to our attention. Do you see any events on the site that could explain what happened to the files? This will help me to assist further!
-
Hi @"Pbovat2979", thanks for bringing this to our attention. It sounds like your computer could have been infected with malware or ransomware, which would rename your files. Depending on your plan, you could use Dropbox Rewind to restore a previous version of your files from before this occurred. If you need any further…
-
That link seems to work fine. It's possible that there could be a random issue affecting the shared link that doesn't work. You can try deleting the link entirely, and then creating a new shared link for the same folder to see if this helps. The URL will be changed for the shared link, just so you're aware.
-
Are you certain that you copied the full shared link correctly? Could you create a test file with a new shared link to see if that works?
-
Hi @"msacks", thanks for bringing this to our attention. Could you attach a screenshot showing what you're seeing, if this is possible, to understand what you're referring to? This will help me to assist further!
-
Hi @"Sambowtell", thanks for bringing this to our attention. Is this error only occurring with this shared link, or do other shared links on your account get the same error? This will help me to assist further!
-
Hi @"andrewkol", thanks for the info. I'd recommend contacting the support team directly to look into this matter in more detail on their end.
-
Hi @"olipirsoul", thanks for bringing this to our attention. Are you able to dismiss the notification using that option? Are you sure this is a shared link, and not a shared folder? This will help me to assist further!
-
No problem at all, glad to have helped out. Enjoy your week!
-
There isn't much we can troubleshoot on this matter, as it depends on how the preview appears in Apple Mail. One possibility could be the type of file, or the file size, that could affect previews in another app.
-
Hi @HoppiGaloppi, thanks for bringing this to our attention. As far as I'm aware, there haven't been any changes to how shared links are affected or previewed in emails, so it's possible this might be a setting in Apple Mail, or a recent change there. I'll leave this thread open for other users to contribute their…
-
Hi @Taina K, thanks for bringing this to our attention. It sounds like you're referring to the selective sync feature, which allows you to prevent folders from syncing to your computer. Could you try checking that to see if this is it? This will help me to assist further!
-
Hi @shrimpgordita, thanks for bringing this to our attention. Could you try reinstalling the Dropbox desktop application, without uninstalling it first, using this link? Keep me updated with any progress!
-
Hi @Panayot Bobev, thanks for the feedback. Could you attach a screenshot showing what it looks like on your device, while hiding any personal emails, names and files?
-
Okay, and you're not changing the title of the files, which could also cause problems. How 'deep' is the subfolder you're moving it to, as in, are there many levels or just one subfolder down? Just to be certain, when you're aware of the exact error message the other user is getting, it would help us a lot.
-
After you move the PDF files to the new location, are you able to open them on your end?
-
This is what I wanted to check, if they are actually trying to open the files from the new locations directly in Explorer, or if they're using their PDF program to reopen the previous file, without navigating to it directly. If the file still doesn't open from Explorer, then we can look into other possibilities
-
Hi @Colene, is it possible that they're trying to open the PDF files from within their PDF program, as in, opening their recent files? If so, this could mean that the program is trying to find the PDF in the old location, and can't find it, bringing up the error. Are they able to navigate to that folder you moved it to and…
-
Hi @Jaiy, thanks for the info, do you have any proxy, VPN, firewall, security software, or even ISP/router settings that could be restricting traffic to the following Dropbox domains?
-
Hi @Ell2, thanks for bringing this to our attention. As it sounds like you're referring to a shared folder, you would be able to see some information about file activity. With viewer info, you can also see when a user is viewing a file, and if you're on some specific plans, you can see when they last accessed it. If you…
-
Hi @ShazamJr, thanks for bringing this to our attention. Did you delete these files yourself, or did you remove a shared folder from your account? What do you see on the events page? This will help me to assist further!