Comments
-
When you were making the changes, was the computer connected to internet at that time, either via WiFi or mobile hotspot? Even if the desktop app is running, but no active internet connection, it won’t save every individual edit. The next time the computer is connected to the internet, there will be one edit only, showing…
-
Could you check and see if the desktop app is running in the menu bar? Do the files in the Dropbox folder have green ticks next to them?
-
Hi Sarah, were you amending the file using Office Online, or by opening the Word program on your machine itself? If the latter, it sounds like the Dropbox desktop application wasn’t running when making the changes. What machine were you editing the file on? Any further info you can provide would be great!
-
No worries, glad to hear you were able to find a solution on your own! Let me know if you experience any further issues.
-
As this is a shared folder, since a colleague can see that you’re the owner, perhaps you’ve removed yourself from the folder? Try navigating to the following page and adding it back to your account.
-
It depends on the current plan you’re on, if you’re able to view files from back then, you can restore it if need be. Have you tried searching for the file name specifically in the search bar?
-
Hi there, could you check the events page to see if you can locate a recent move, deletion or if it was removed as a shared folder?
-
When you say download, do you want the vCard to be downloaded to the machine, or for it to open automatically, to be added to a person’s contact list? If the latter, try using the raw=1 option as per this article and let me know if this helps.
-
Hi Gary, if you want users to simply download the card, you can create a normal shared link using the steps here.
-
You can also delete the duplicate files from the Dropbox folder on your machine, and those changes will sync up to the site, which would be easier than deleting from the site directly.
-
As mentioned, it will delete the files from all machines linked to your account, since the cloud is the ‘main’ storage area. Any changes there are reflected elsewhere. When you say ‘resync’, do you mean to run the desktop app manually? If it’s running while you’re doing the deletions from the site, the syncing and the…
-
You won’t need to share the folder, since it is the same account. It should be syncing normally, unless the Dropbox desktop application isn’t actively syncing. Can you see the Dropbox icon in the menu bar near the clock? Does it have a blue icon on it? Do the files in the Dropbox folder in Finder on computer 2 have green…
-
Hi Vanessa, if you delete the photos from the Dropbox site, then the images will be deleted from all other devices automatically. However, you can delete the duplicates from the Dropbox site, and then the duplicates would be removed from all devices instead. Is this possible on your side?
-
This means that the forum profile is signed into your personal account, which would be the same as your Dropbox account. As you have a work account too, which one is signed into the first computer, and the second computer? Are you sharing files from the work to personal, or vice versa? Which account isn’t seeing the shared…
-
Hi there, are you sharing it to a different email address to your own Dropbox account? If you’re using the same Dropbox account on both machines, there isn’t any need to create a shared folder. If it is the same account, could you check that the Dropbox desktop application is running and syncing correctly on the second…
-
Could you try quitting the app completely and re-opening it?
-
Thanks, to open the desktop app, click preferences (which should be beneath the first ———— line). On that page, the middle dropdown box is the languages. Select English and you should be fine!
-
Hi there, are you referring to the desktop app, mobile app or the Dropbox site?
-
Are you able to make any files online-only using Smart Sync? Could you forward a screenshot showing the plan page, while hiding the name of the team for me?
-
Hi there, if you’re getting this on your Dropbox Business team, then it’s possible that the account has been downgraded to a free team. You can check what kind of team you’re on by logging in and visiting the following page. What does the team admin see on their end?
-
Hi there, if there’s password protection on the zip file, the Dropbox site or app won’t be able to open the file in question. Hope this clarifies matters!
-
Lovely to see it back! Great high res screenshot too!
-
Good, if flash is working, then it’s possible that a proxy, antivirus application, firewall, or other application is using or blocking ports required for the "Open" button to work correctly. For information about the system requirements and specific ports, please review the following article.
-
Could you try the steps in the following Google article for Chrome?
-
Thanks for the details, Holly. What browser are you using to access the Dropbox site, Safari, Chrome, Firefox? If it’s Safari, and you’re not seeing all the options there, try enabling the Flash plugin by first downloading it from Adobe’s site, and then enabling it in the Safari preferences page as per here. You’ll need to…
-
Hi Carolyn, the gear icon should be on the Dropbox desktop application, and not the Dropbox site, so it is always there regardless of what plan you have. Have you installed the app on your machine? If not, please download it from here and let us know if it syncs successfully!
-
Hi @"hollymchargue", if you’re opening the file from a shared link, then you won’t get the ‘Open’ option, only a Download option. Could you confirm exactly how you’re getting access to that file? Is it a link to your personal Dropbox account online? Secondly, are you opening the Dropbox site on the same computer that the…
-
If you’d like to repost the images without filenames/filepaths, just the dates, it would be appreciated. File names are still private information you see! The dates that appear online are the dates the files were modified according to Dropbox, so they don’t necessarily match what’s on the computer. This means either the…
-
Hi Matt, could you try uploading the files using a different browser? Otherwise, use incognito/private browsing mode without any extensions running, clearing your cache and even resetting your browser entirely. Let me know how it goes!
-
Hi there, for clarification, which version is correct for the date modified? Also, I’ve removed the images for your own privacy.