Comments
-
Hi there, this isn’t possible I’m afraid, due to obvious security concerns.
-
Hi there, since iOS 12 and Siri shortcuts are relatively new, most likely there isn’t any integration or compatibility with the Dropbox mobile app. I’ll forward this suggestion to our dev team for their consideration in future!
-
That’s up to you of course. If you do have other files that aren’t used by Adobe Bridge, then at least those can remain online-only and free up space on your device.
-
Glad to hear that you were able to open and edit the file! Have a great week ahead! :)
-
Hi there, I moved your thread into this one since it was related. You can't rename the computer name from the security settings, you'll need to follow the steps provided by colleague above to change the computer name.
-
Hi Peter, if you’re trying to share a link to a file in Dropbox, you need to create one using the following steps. The link you provided only works if you’re viewing the file while logged into your own account, so it wasn’t a shared link, it won’t work for anyone else.
-
Hi there, if a file is viewed in Adobe Bridge, then the file needs to be downloaded to the machine to view it. There wouldn’t be a way to prevent this, since it would stop the file from being viewed.
-
Hi there, most likely it isn’t possible to edit the file via the Dropbox mobile app, unless you open it in Numbers on the iOS device. Are you able to try exporting the file to Numbers on iOS to see if you can edit it from there?
-
Hi there, the steps there are for a different reason. The (Personal) part of the name will only disappear if you unpair your personal account from the team account. If it’s still connected to a team account, then that tag will remain there and can’t be removed otherwise. After you’ve disconnected the accounts, you can…
-
Hi Jenya, are you referring to having your photos appear on a map, using GPS tags from within the photos? If so, currently there isn’t a feature like that on Dropbox, though it is possible that a third party app or service can help with this.
-
No worries, Gayle, I can help clarify this for you! Firstly, with selective sync, make sure all folders are ticked. This means that literally every folder will sync to your machine. If they were unticked, there would be no sign of the folders on your machine, and they would be ‘unsynced’. The ‘start as online-only’ applies…
-
Hi there, I’ve moved your post to the API forum for our specialist to help out!
-
Hi there, if you need an invoice which can then be paid by a bank transfer, you’ll need to contact our team directly. Please could you contact them using the following link.
-
Hi Shane, could you try deleting the Dropbox app, rebooting the phone, and then reinstalling it from the app store to see if this helps? If you get the same issue, please could you forward a screencast showing what happens when opening the file?
-
Heya, just so you know I’ve moved your post to the API forum for our specialist to help out!
-
Hi there, there isn’t a way to choose which photos can appear in the Photos tab. It automatically shows any image on your account, including those in shared folders. I’ll pass your feedback onto our dev team for their consideration to change this in future.
-
Hi there, I merged your thread with this post so you can see more information about this error message from Chrome.
-
That’s correct, I wasn’t sure if you uploaded any images into the folder yourself, but I thought I’d mention it just in case!
-
Hi there, if you delete the photos, they’ll be deleted for all members of the shared folder. However, they can still restore the images from the Dropbox site, unless you’re able to permanently delete the files yourself. Hope this info helps!
-
I just tested it on our Linux device here, and you’re correct in that it doesn’t allow moving the folder prior to when the files begin to sync. As that’s the case, the desktop app needs to be used to move the folder. Since you’re not seeing the icon in the menu bar and have already done an advanced reinstall, there’s…
-
Hi Lauri, have you checked the following page to ensure that the firewall and port are setup to allow LAN sync to function to its full capacity?
-
Hi there, when installing the Dropbox desktop application with a clean installation (i.e. after an advanced reinstall), you should get the following option after signing into your account: Where it says ‘Add your personal account’, it should say ‘Open your Dropbox folder’. Here you would put the location of the external…
-
It takes some time to mark the files and folders as online-only to download the placeholder files, and varies depending on the number of files in total, and no problems with sharing. If you have any questions, please let me know!
-
Hi Vic, if you just upgraded, quit and reopen the Dropbox desktop application for the option to appear. If that doesn’t work, reboot the Mac. This will make sure that the context menu has been installed. Let me know if that works!
-
I’ve forwarded this as a suggestion for our dev team to see and consider this in future updates to the Dropbox desktop application!
-
Glad to hear that the syncing problem was resolved by downgrading to the stable version! Currently, there isn’t an option to see the actively syncing files via the desktop app. The only way would be to see the files in the Dropbox folder with the syncing icons to determine which ones were syncing, though if you have…
-
Hi Kris, generally symlinks are an issue for files that seem to endlessly download, especially on Macs since they are created often. Another thing to check out is if you’re running the beta version of the app. To install our latest stable version, visit here and uncheck the box next to "Early releases". Then redownload the…
-
Thanks for getting back to me! If you just upgraded to a plan with Smart Sync, usually a reboot is needed for the desktop app to register the change and provide those options. If this wasn’t the case in your instance, then it might have been a gremlin in the machine, and rebooting scared it away!
-
Hi there, if the option isn’t there any more in the context menu on your machine, then the Dropbox desktop application isn’t running or working as it should. Could you check if the app is running, and additionally if the files themselves have any green ticks or other syncing icons?
-
If there’s no edits to the file, then it means that the file wasn’t ‘saved’ at all during. Editing a file is fine, but it doesn’t automatically update to Dropbox unless you save the file itself using Word. Once the file is updated, then the sync begins. Another possibility is that the file was copied to a place outside the…