Comments
-
Glad to hear it's working now, enjoy your week ahead!
-
Hi @"Janinec", could you clarify what your issue is exactly? Are the files missing on the computer or the site directly? Are you able to recover the missing files from the deleted files page?
-
Hi @"Homegrown Phenom", do you have the ticket ID in order to locate it on the system? Thanks!
-
Hi @"Russ5", we can see the ticket ID, but there isn't a reply to it in the system. Could you reply again on the ticket for the agent to assist?
-
Hi @"Akerke Maulenbay", I've merged you to this thread for users with similar issues. Could you check on your machine for an old Dropbox folder to see if the files are visible there?
-
Hi @"andre347", I've merged you to this thread for those with similar questions. If you need any further assistance, please let me know.
-
Hi @"bmayfield", thanks for bringing this to our attention. Could you try marking the file as online-only and then local again to see if the file previews? Keep me updated with any progress!
-
Hi @"M1Victim", thanks for bringing this to our attention. In order to understand the exact issue you're experiencing, could you attach the error log in the forum? This will help me to assist further.
-
Hi @"pdolmsted", if you're still experiencing issues disabling the computer backup feature, I'd recommend getting in contact with the support team directly for further assistance for them to investigate in more detail.
-
Hi @"wloh", I've merged you to this thread for users with similar questions. Could you check to see if you have Onedrive installed and running on your machine? If you need any further assistance, please let me know!
-
Hi @"AjanJack", just to confirm, this issue hasn't re-occurred again for you?
-
When you invite users to the shared link, you're actually inviting them to join the shared folder, which means it's added to their account so the files are then downloaded.
-
Hi @"HenryS90", new recovery words are generated when you use the last unused word. While there isn't a way to manually refresh the words, you can disable two-step verification and then re-enable it, which should generate new backup codes. Keep me updated with any progress!
-
Hi @"Jonny_Liebs", I understand your frustration over this matter. First of all, did you enable the option to invite specific members to the shared folder, as well as disabling downloads? Could you attach a screenshot showing your link settings, while hiding any personal info?
-
Hi @ewnesi, it seems like you still have the Dropbox desktop application installed on your machine if it is appearing in the activity monitor. If you're not on a Dropbox Basic plan with more than 3 devices connected, could you try an advanced reinstall of the app using the steps in this link?
-
Hi @"katief", are you on a Dropbox Business team, and is the A and B wording the name of your team? Is it possible that your team has switched to the new team space structure? From the screenshot, Dropbox A appears to be greyed out and with an arrow on it, meaning it's a hidden symlink folder to the new location, which…
-
Thanks for the update, please wait for 24 hours before attempting to login again on the Dropbox desktop application. If you're still experiencing this issue after that time, let me know.
-
Hi @"kikikei", thanks for bringing this to our attention. It looks like your message was cut off at the end, so I'm not sure if there's any additional info you were going to add. Have you enabled two step verification on your account? Have you tried waiting a full 24 hours before attempting to login again? This will help…
-
Nothing will happen to the files, as Dropbox doesn't delete files on your account without user interaction. The only thing that will occur, assuming you're overquota when the plan expires, is that files will stop syncing until you get underquota again (either by deleting files, or upgrading again). If you need any more…
-
Hi @"JimL from HB", @"johnblakemore", could you attach a screenshot showing the exact message you're getting when loading the version history for the file on the Dropbox site?
-
Thanks for the update, as you've upgraded to a trial via the iOS app, it wouldn't be possible to upgrade early. As you've already cancelled the trial, you'll need to wait until the trial expires and then upgrade manually either via the app again or the Dropbox site.
-
Hi @"JimL from HB", you don't need a file password to access the version history of any file on Dropbox. Are you referring to a password on the file itself, or the password to your Dropbox account online?
-
Hi @"theory980", I've merged you to this thread, could you try the recommended steps to restore the purchases on your account?
-
Hi @"Laus", do you have any backups on your account, either from an external drive or computer backup?
-
Hi @"pambarnes01", have you followed these steps to disable the computer backup feature?
-
If the files were synced to the site and then were deleted, since it's been longer than 30 days, it wouldn't be possible to recover them from Dropbox, unfortunately. Regarding the virus/malware, provided you installed the official app from the Dropbox site, it isn't possible for the app itself to install anything like…
-
Thanks for the info, I'd recommend getting in contact with the support team directly for further assistance. Once you get a ticket ID from the automated response, please let me know the number here so I can locate it in our system.
-
Hi @"dsw0513", thanks for contacting us! As @"Mark" said, file requests do require a name and email when uploading. However, the names are just for differentiating who uploaded files to your account. It doesn't need to be correct or even a name. Likewise, with the email, this is only for their benefit so they know the file…
-
Hi @"GotThePassports", thanks for bringing this to our attention. In general, via the Dropbox site, it would be possible to upgrade a trial early. As you've started the trial via the iOS app, the process might be different. What options do you see on the subscription page in the iOS app? What plan are you upgrading to?…
-
How long has it been since your files went missing? Was it over 30 days ago? What plan are you on currently?