Comments
-
why is the data not allocated to all users when users are "readers" only. In a shared folder, it is. The level of access you have to a shared folder doesn't matter. If a shared folder is in your account, even if you have view-only access, it counts against your storage quota (Business Teams are the exception to this). For…
-
I then upload files to THEIR storage But that's not what you're doing. You're uploading the files to a folder in your account, which happens to be shared with another account. The data you upload is still in your account. I just need to use their storage to upload/download. Then ask them to send you a file request (for…
-
I must increase the size of my account in order to upload to their account. The part you're not understanding is that you're not uploading to their account. You're uploading to yours. If a folder is shared with you, it's in your account. If you upload to that folder, you're uploading to a folder that exists in your account.
-
John, do you have enough available space on your local hard drive?
-
The application will always install to C. That cannot be changed. The data folder, however, can be placed on any other internal drive. Towards the end of the install process click the Advanced Options link.
-
Note that the File Requests feature now allows you to upload files to a Dropbox user without needing to have your own account. * https://help.dropbox.com/files-folders/create-file-request * https://help.dropbox.com/files-folders/received-file-request [This thread is now closed by moderators due to inactivity. If you're…
-
I was sent a link It is a shared folder Those are two different items. A link to a folder is not a shared folder. If all you were sent was a link, then you cannot upload to it. If you were invited to the folder, then as Dave said it will appear as a folder in your own Dropbox. If you were sent a link, ask the person to…
-
A rename on your operating system is seen as a deletion of one folder and an add of another. When this happens Dropbox will re-index the entire content and while doing so it will appear as though it's uploading and/or downloading, but it really isn't. Only files that have actually changed will be transferred. This process…
-
including sublfoders? No.
-
Using the Dropbox website, no. Using your computer, assuming you have the Dropbox client installed and all files are synced, you can list the properties of a folder (on Windows, right-click, select Properties) and it will list how many files are within it.
-
Has there been any development on this feature? Dropbox does not reveal planned features until they're released in the Beta clients.
-
Is there another way to do this? No, there isn't. It's their computer creating these files. To Dropbox, they're just files like any other that need to be synced, so it syncs them. Are you on Windows? If so, run a recursive attrib command on your Dropbox folder to set those files to hidden, then disable the display of…
-
And dropbox are still ignoring this Dropbox has not ignored this. They explained the issue in this very thread back in May 2015. * https://www.dropboxforum.com/hc/en-us/community/posts/201275139-Why-do-these-com-dropbox-attributes-files-show-up-everywhere-/comments/201014689
-
So I want to just move the files (and file structure) over from that server to Dropbox. https://mover.io/ [This thread is now closed by moderators due to inactivity. If you're experiencing a similar behavior, feel free to start a new discussion in the Ask a Question section here.]