Comments
-
TeresaK wrote:my account has been deactiavted but there was no reason too i thought i was logging in every day to it since i can not reactivate it i would atleast like to recover files from it. The only thing you can do is contact Support for assistance. Open your ticket here: https://dropbox.com/support Track your ticket…
-
DDCG wrote:It will then re-sync everything again (this part sucks). It's actually not re-syncing. It's indexing all of the files in your folder and comparing them to the content of your account online. It may appear to be uploading and/or downloading, but it's only transferring comparison data and any data that has changed…
-
There really isn't a need for this as deleted files do not take up space in your account. If you really want to delete the files in Deleted Files, you can follow the steps to permanently delete them, about half way down the following help article. * https://www.dropbox.com/help/desktop-web/delete-files-on-computer
-
Dropbox will upload whatever version of the photo is in your camera roll. Normally that's the original, unedited photo. If iCloud changes that somehow, and I don't see why that would happen, then Dropbox will upload whatever version of the photo is there. This sounds more like a question for Apple, in that you're asking…
-
Tous les fichiers stockés dans votre dossier Dropbox seront automatiquement synchronisés tant que vous auriez l'application Dropbox en cours d'exécution. Vous devriez voir une icône Dropbox dans votre bac système (Windows) ou la barre de menus (Mac) lorsque Dropbox est en cours d'exécution. En outre, travailler sur une…
-
ferpal1 wrote:My account gor closed due to inactivity. I have been away for a while and did not need to access the account but is there a way to re open it? More than likely, no. Once an account has been deleted, it's gone. You can try asking Support but they may not be able to assist you. Open your ticket here:…
-
It's very possible, just not supported or recommended. Install Dropbox and use the Advanced Options to specify the location for your Dropbox folder. Allow it to sync completely. Boot into the other operating system and install Dropbox, again using Advanced Options to specify the same Dropbox folder. Dropbox will index your…
-
Files uploaded to Dropbox are uploaded in their original resolution. If you're viewing these files through the Dropbox website, then what you're seeing is just a preview of the original file. The original, unmodified file will be seen in its full resolution when downloaded and opened on a computer.
-
JMRhodes wrote:Seems to me no one has actually answered the question I have answered it. How, though, do you know though if that person has responded and accessed the shared folder? You don't, as the share function no longer works that way. As soon as you invite someone, they have access. You cannot see when they access…
-
Thanks, @"RichardDBX". Very helpful and much appreciated!
-
@"Ju1" wrote:They are making moves because of traffic and seems like they have a lot of costs. That is complete speculation. No one knows what's behind the decision to change the photos experience because they haven't announced it, nor have they announced what the changes will be.
-
The Public Folder feature is being removed for all accounts, not just Basic/Free, but it is an old feature that was replaced long ago. The new method is to use a Share Link to the file or folder that you wish to share. * https://www.dropbox.com/help/files-folders/view-only-access
-
alphachannel wrote:Or maybe they're planning to add a better experience? From the Photos announcement: * The Photos page will be replaced with a new, streamlined photos experience that looks more like our redesigned Dropbox website. You’ll be able to access it by navigating to dropbox.com/photos or clicking on Photos in…
-
uEduard wrote:Well, in this case, Dropbox at least should consider, informing the users, to download the video in order to get the full HD quality. They already do. The message appears if the video is paused, or when the 15-minute preview time has been reached.
-
Dropbox has no such functionality. There are some third-party utilities that can accomplish this, but they are not supported. Try a Google search instead.
-
jspencer wrote:The members column shows "only you". You're still a member of the folder, so it's still considered shared. Remove yourself from it. * https://www.dropbox.com/help/files-folders/leave-shared-folder
-
If a file or folder returns when you delete it, it's because it was unable to be deleted on one of your connected devices. You delete a file on computer A. Dropbox is informed that it has been deleted and syncs that change to your account. Dropbox on your other devices is notified that the file has been deleted, so they…
-
Jacqueline E. wrote:Dropbpx I truly dislike that you stay you don't need an account to view shared files and you DO!!!! You do not need an account to view a file that was sent with a Share Link. You do need an account if the files were shared with you via a shared folder. even in the public folder you need to have an…
-
Southy wrote:I gather Public Folder is going off line as of Sept 2017.... What do I use instead? Share links replaced the Public folder functionality several years ago. * https://www.dropbox.com/help/files-folders/view-only-access
-
Jacqueline E. wrote: the link you have as a solution comes up as an error message :( It just had an extra period at the end, likely because the link was at the end of the sentence. I've edited the post to correct. Here's the link again: * https://www.dropbox.com/help/16
-
You need to understand how Dropbox sees things. A rename of a file or folder is seen as a deletion of the old and an addition of the new. Dropbox sees that Folder1 no longer exists and that Folder2 does. It can only assume that one has been deleted and the other added. As it's indexing the files in the "new" folder it will…
-
Oboale wrote:What's happening is when I download it to my desktop (from my laptop) I get video, no audio. Since this is happening when you download the file and open it locally, it won't have anything to do with Dropbox. Make sure you have an appropriate video player installed, and if necessary, the proper codec for the…
-
janiskovich wrote:For many, the invitation goes to their spam and they never know they've received it. If they have Dropbox installed on their computer, they'll also receive a desktop notification if they have them enabled (and they are, by default). They will also see a notification if they log into the Dropbox website.
-
Invitations no longer work that way. They don't need to be accepted. Once you invite someone, they have access to the folder and are able to add or remove it from their Dropbox account at will. They're either a member or they aren't.
-
I think you're looking for the Events page. The link to it has been removed, but the page still exists. * http://www.dropbox.com/events
-
Dropbox has trialed lower cost plans many times over the years, and they have never been financially feasible. I wouldn't count on this ever happening.
-
Matt, refer to my reply above. It no longer works that way. As soon as you invite someone to a shared folder, they have access. There is no longer a need to accept the invitation.
-
Do you have the Dropbox client installed on your computer? If so, then your files will be syncing to your computer. They'll be in the Dropbox folder. Just copy them to your external drive like you would any other file. If you're not already syncing your files and you just use the Dropbox website, then you'll need to…
-
It's on your Account page. Click the View all space earned link.
-
Rogier L. wrote:I get something like "Error during install: error code 2". * https://www.dropboxforum.com/t5/Installation-and-desktop-app/installation-error-2-win-7/m-p/220007/highlight/true#M43999